Where the hell is Paul?


Advertisement
Europe
July 10th 2009
Published: July 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SantoriniSantoriniSantorini

magic...
OK, this entry probably won't get me any awards for Picture of the Week, but I thought it was worth publishing anyhooo.


I've seen so many people having their photo taken of themselves standing in front of whatever monument or scene they were witnessing. Actually I forget how many times I helped fulfil the task for them. "Here's a bloke with a big camera, he can take it for us..." I'd imagined they'd go through their photo albums in the future saying "Here's me standing in front of...." and "oh and here's me standing in front of...". These people never seemed to take any pictures of the places or the people, but they will end up having an album full of proof that they'd been somewhere.


So about one in every 400 photos that I took I thought I'd better do the same thing, and started a theme.


It was inspired by the very clever "Where the Hell is Matt" video, that you can see on YouTube. It'll take a bit to download, but it's good. Open it in another window and let it download and come back here! I've even seen it being played on the big screens here in Times Square in New York city.


Obviously not having a video camera, or the dancing abilities that Matt has, you'll just have to do with arms length self-portraits.


A truly self indulgent blog entry. Allow me this once!



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

48 foot high wall, Belfast48 foot high wall, Belfast
48 foot high wall, Belfast

to keep the bloody catholics away from the bloody protestants. Bloody religion.
At the Guinness factory, DublinAt the Guinness factory, Dublin
At the Guinness factory, Dublin

and yes, it did taste better there. That's Ioana, by the way.
On the bus in ScotlandOn the bus in Scotland
On the bus in Scotland

Catherine?, with Ioana and Mischa behind
in Brugesin Bruges
in Bruges

at a music festival. Great kebabs...
KyotoKyoto
Kyoto

with my English Club uni student guides


10th July 2009

great compliation!
Great compliation - luv yr 'tude! ;-)
10th July 2009

You are the master ......
Hi Paul, Not only am I jealous .... so completly jealous of you and your unique travel diary - but also so jealous of your talented One Handed Photography! You are the master of the One Handed Photo ... aka OHP (sigh) I had hopes, dreams and aspirations during my education at SCECGS but this talent of yours surpasses all of them! travel safe my friend - would be great to share Santorini stories on your return!
10th July 2009

nice one
Funny entry!!!, it is kinda the same thing as we did in our trip... but with our feet: [diary=335308]
10th July 2009

Thanks
Thanks for your compliments, Alicia. I'd happily return to Santorini anytime, although I need a month to catch up on savouring my own bed, holding my kids, and doing some washing first! I'm going to need an equal amount of time to work out which of the 10,000 photos to print out, but I'd reckon there's going to be at least one giant print of Santorini on my living room wall very soon.
14th July 2009

Love it!!!! ...what an adventure.

Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 23; qc: 99; dbt: 0.0876s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb