New York, New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
July 11th 2009
Published: July 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Michael Jackson is not dead!Michael Jackson is not dead!Michael Jackson is not dead!

As seen crossing the street in Times Square, the day before his supposed funeral...
I (heart) New York.

So say the tee shirts, which in this time of recession, can be had for 9 for $10, just off Times Square. Things must be really tough. When I was here two years ago, they were 4 for $10, or maybe 5 of you were a block or two away from the tourist sites.

By spending more time in Europe, I only gave myself two and a half days here on this visit, which was fine, as I'd spent two weeks here on my last visit. If you're contemplating going, there's an enourmous amount of things to do and sights to see here. Give yourself a week at least.

More importantly, the city has a "feel" or vibe that's hard to describe. That takes time to appreciate. Hmmm. Actually, I felt it again the minute I walked off the bus! It just has a presence to it. Noise. Sirens, although I didn't notice them as much this time. Yellow cabs everywhere you look. Bloody big buildings everywhere you look. I'm sure the term Urban Canyon was invented here. It's a grubby, edgy, and busy place too. If not for the car traffic, the pedestrian traffic is impressive too. After you've spent a bit of time here, it's great to just find a busy corner and watch the organised mayhem taking place in front of you. After a few days more, go and visit Central Park, and appreciate the tranquility!

The city still felt very much on edge in 2006, but less so now. The paranoia level back then was all pervasive. In London, they have constant recorded announcements on the subway, sorry, the Tube, encouraging you to "mind the gap". In NYC, the recorded subway announcements were to report any suspicious items or bags, and that random bag searches would take place. (The driver's announcements were still so unintelligible as to make me laugh each time...)

There are so many police here in New York that I'm sure they outnumber the amount of taxis and their drivers. Many of them are just standing around in front of something, blocking access to some building or driveway, but they are there, uniforms, radios and all.

Times Square has become more pedestrian friendly since I was here last too. It's a huge area where all of the buildings are covered in neon billboards, some up to 20 storeys high. In a city laid out on a grid, the area is open enough for all of the billboards to be seen because Broadway is one road that crosses the grid pattern diagonally. They have since blocked off traffic on Broadway, and provided garden chairs for people to sit on and watch the human traffic go by from...

With only a few days here this time, I spent one of them inside camera shops looking at all of the toys that I could have bought, but couldn't have carried home... The other days, I did get out and do some touristy things. I visited the newly reopened USS Intrepid museum, which is an aircraft carrier that has some historic planes on its deck, and a great exhibition space in the enormous hangar deck below. It is also home to the Growler, a submarine designed to deliver nuclear warheads back in the 50s. And, I can now say that I've been on the Concorde, the world's fastest passenger jet. This thing is very cool. It looks just like it's something out of the Thunderbirds. Pity it's not flying anymore...

Last time I went, I visited the Top of the Rock at the Rockefeller Centre one evening, and then the Empire State on my last morning. This time I chose to revisit the Empire State building for my last evening, and I watched a great sunset from the top. If you haven't been to either, then definitely do both! The Rock has fantastic unrestricted views of the city, Central Park, and of the Empire State building too, either through glass or over a low wall. It usually has much shorter queues too. The Empire State, however, is an iconic building which shouldn't be missed either.

I love New York!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

More iconsMore icons
More icons

limos, taxis, steam vents in the middle of the road.
5th Avenue5th Avenue
5th Avenue

Louis Vuitton, Armani, Tiffany's...


12th July 2009

Great pics Paul
I so much want to go back to NYC. These are great pics
12th July 2009

I really do (heart) NYC
NYC is an awesome place, but sometimes the touristy spots aren't the places to get the best feel of the city. Here's a pretty interesting list of 10 things NOT to do in NYC, hope you enjoy... http://www.concierge.com/ideas/hotspots/tours/500723
13th July 2009

Excellent Pics
You have captured the spirit of NYC very well....excellent eye for detail. Regards,Joydeep
14th July 2009

I agree
It takes time to discover a city, but then as a tourist, you do sometimes feel compelled to do "the sights". Last time I was there, I experienced a pretzel from a street vendor, and threw most of it in the bin. this time, I experienced a hot dog out of the bath water, complete with mustard etc. I can say I've done it now! I wish I'd tried the octopus in Greece... BTW, for other readers; the concierge site mentioned above is a good read, but is loaded with ads and pop-ups.
13th February 2010

OMG
I just logged back on again and found this message in the mail. I had to post it for you all: "that picture of I don't know who BUT it is NOT michael Jackson. Do you know what he looks like? have you ever even seen him?...the caption reads that he's not dead and he was spotted at times square the day of or day after his funeral. well.. Michael was a 50-51 year old gentleman who had an extremely lighter complexion than the impersonator you photographed. that guy in the picture looks nothing like him. Phony publicity I see... trying to make a buck off of an icons death"
10th June 2010
Michael Jackson is not dead!

That not Michael Jacksom
Why would somebody say thats Michael Jackson, first of all that person is to short why dont people stop this
13th June 2010
Michael Jackson is not dead!

I saw mj is live
I know mj is live
27th June 2010
Michael Jackson is not dead!

HE IS NOT MICHAEL
:)) Common No Idiot would Think that he Is Mike !!!! He Is Too Too Short!!! and too Ugly!!!!
11th August 2010
Michael Jackson is not dead!

If Michael Jackson is truly dead, why wasn't his body revealed to the public? There are many variables that can conclude that Michael jackson is not dead.
30th August 2010
Michael Jackson is not dead!

michael skin was white
when michael past away his skin was whit not black
29th March 2011
Michael Jackson is not dead!

ha ha haha ha
it's very funny though
23rd June 2011
NYPD blues

Proud!
This makes me proud to know that women officers are strong enough to fight in the force. I just become an officer in the OCCB Unit. Women rule!!!
14th November 2011
Michael Jackson is not dead!

It can't
It can't because MJ is not black or brown or light brown.He is white

Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 17; qc: 104; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb