T minus 2


Advertisement
Europe
June 3rd 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Leaving in two days. Have already determined that I think Patrick will need to bring my coffee creamer when he joins me for Germany and Switzerland. I am not sure I can make it without my Carnation non-dairy creamer after all. That's it! I need a bigger bag! And someone to carry it!

Actually, I am quite impressed with myself. I, in fact, did manage to cram six outfits and two pairs of shoes into my carry-on. Then, I crammed two more dresses and one more shirt. Am feverishly trying to figure out if I have anything else that might fit in there. My sack is stuffed, so to speak. No room for treasures (which will also be coming home with Patrick so I can reload). Good call, Dana!

Received the key to my apartment in Paris today. That's definitely convenient! Bart, the person who helped me with my rental (I think he is the owner's relative), has been a super nice guy. He sent me a step-by-step walkthrough (complete with pictures) of how to find my apartment building, open the front door, select the elevator button, directions down the hall, and even how to open the door. Sweet, right? This guy really doesn't want me to get lost, I guess. Gotta love a person who gives good directions.

Have tried desperately to find some comfortable (a.k.a elastic) pants for my cooking classes. My husband thoughtfully gave me two pairs of chef's pants (houndstooth and striped), but when I tried them on, the crotch literally graced my knees. They were size "smalls", but I guess chefs are normally not quite as petite (very PC way to express that, right?) as I am, so those are going to be a "no". I don't think it helped that chef pants are gender-neutral. I have decided to just use old clothes that I will donate before coming home. Yes, I really am that cheap. Sadly, no elastic waist. Somehow, I think I will regret this particular decision.

My IPOD is loaded. My bag is packed. My toiletries are lined up all over my counter, so I can remove two from the pile every time I walk by until I can fit everything into a ziplock bag. (Let's just say I have many, many more trips to make past my pile.)

I am shocked about how dependent we get on our "Stuff". I have been fretting for days about what to/ or not to take. Seems stupid in hindsight. I will be able to buy anything--- I am going to Paris! I will also do without a few things for a while. That is really cleansing for the soul, even if mildly uncomfortable or inconvenient.

I think I am going to pass out from excitement now. Tomorrow is my last day at work. I have really tried to get as much done as possible before my trip and work is ever-present on my mind. I always want to leave things in perfect order, and that is rarely possible. It goes with the OCD part of my personality... I am going to miss a lot of the people I work with. It is really special that I look forward to seeing so many of these people I consider friends every day. It has just occurred to me that I still haven't sent this link to anyone, so I better work on that part next. Otherwise, I could have just called this a journal....

Follow your dreams.
CVJ




Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb