Preparations


Advertisement
Europe
April 25th 2009
Published: April 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am six weeks out from my culinary adventure through Western Europe. I have been several times before, but for a majority of this trip, I will travel alone. Pitiful, right? Not exactly. Check out this itenerary: 1.) Cooking school at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris, France and renting an apartment overlooking the Eiffel Tower; 2.) driving through Bavaria down the Romantic Road through German castles and amazing countryside; 3.) taking the train through the Swiss Alps from Switzerland to Italy; 4.) riding a gondola in Venice; 5.) Cooking school in Tuscany, Italy; 6.) driving up the French Riviera; and 7.) getting lost in Provence... what a sabbatical!

Like pieces of a broken puzzle, I sit here trying to glue together my travel plans into some sort of order. Details, details...lodging, car rentals, train tickets, sights to see, cooking schools, tour groups, french classes, pouring through four guidebooks, 50+ websites, and finding a website to document all of this so I can stay in touch with my friends and family.

There is so much to do that I feel overwhelmed. Actually, I feel a little anxious because I am not taking a hair straightener. Or nail polish. Or my pillow. Or my coffee creamer. Or my husband. Or my dogs. Or my family. Or my friends. Wait, why am I doing this again?

I guess this trip is a journey I was meant to take. It has been on my top-10 list of things to do before I die for so long that I haven't figured out what I will do when I come back... maybe night diving in Honduras??? I do really want to see the bioluminescent life in the sea!

I have spent 10 years taking this trip in my dreams, so you would think this would be really simple. Cram six changes of clothes and two pairs of shoes in a tiny (although cute) rolling duffel (it's actually quite sporty- don't let "duffel" fool you). We'll see what else I can manage to stuff in there as the trip approaches but this is the plan so far. Oh, and one netbook. Loaded with internet explorer so I can keep you updated though this blog.

So, here we go... Cheers to a safe and exciting trip. I am ready to narrate my journey, even if with a scratchy voice. I'll see all of you in no time at all.

Follow your dreams.
CVJ

Advertisement



Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb