Hiking in Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Gwynedd » Bangor
August 18th 2009
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Britania Britania Britania

Approaching Caernarfon's entrance
Well, I am near Bangor, in Tregarth. Actually at this moment I am sitting in the Star Cafe in Bethesda. I started hiking up hill behind Tregarth, with instructions how to come down the other side and find pub in Pentir. Great views of sea and mountains up there. Got lost several times and was given directions from friendly locals. I didn't expect such a long trek (longer when lost and have to repeat going up that hill through tiny forest). I got to this pub by one thirty, starving, only to find it closed Monday and Tuesday. Damn! Thank goodness for the blackberries I was munching along the way.
I had no clue where I was, because I expected to get directions from people in the pub, how to return to Tregarth. Nobody was around, so I walked along the main road and found bus stop. Figured I could go into Bangor and get some lunch. Then a car stopped and a man asked where I wanted to go. 'Anywhere there is food', I responded. He drove me here, to Bethesday and I found a cafe, and grocery store and post office. I'm ready to find my way back to
Artsy shotArtsy shotArtsy shot

Caernarfon is a great castle to explore
Tregarth, either by bus, or there should be some footpath in that direction.
The views in the highlands were wonderful: castles, mountains, slate quarry, harbour, Beaumaris across the straight, Bangor by the coast, sheep, heather, stone walls enclosing sheep and horses,little villages below.
Nearly a year later.......You know what they say about good intentions..... I came home and went back to work and never found the time to upload the photos until now...when I am soon to trek to New Zealand. So, all of you who get email notices when I publish....sorry for the rash of old blogs and pictures. I had fun uploaded these ones tonight. Wales is a great country to visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Heather on the HillHeather on the Hill
Heather on the Hill

over looking North Wales
HorseHorse
Horse

Early morning before the hike
Goin to the castleGoin to the castle
Goin to the castle

Almost there...
Prince CharlesPrince Charles
Prince Charles

He was crowned Prince of Wales on this spot
Protect the riverProtect the river
Protect the river

The castle is situated in good defensive spot
AllyAlly
Ally

Nice cafes found here
Slate fenceSlate fence
Slate fence

When the trees are all used up, use slate for posts


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb