Nice Surprise


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
August 19th 2009
Published: July 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Found the StreetFound the StreetFound the Street

Beatles are all over the buildings on this street
The first thing I have to say about Liverpool is that it is the very first urban area in the entire U.K. where men who work at the train stations volunteered and did carry my heavy luggage up and down stairs to the platform. It happened twice today, on my way into the city. I even tried to get them off the hook by saying that I could carry my bag, and it was really heavy. But no, they gallantly carried it all the way to my destination. So, hats off to the men in Liverpool, at least the ones I have met during the early hours of arrival.
Nearly a year later, and I continue to be impressed with Liverpool. Go there, amble through the re-vamped core and look for the cultural markers both old and new. Take that ferry trip along the harbour and get off across the water to get the scenic view and find good pubs. Best of all, enjoy the people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Amazing CathedralAmazing Cathedral
Amazing Cathedral

Liverpool cathedral is spectacular
Beautiful brickBeautiful brick
Beautiful brick

I have been in many cathedrals in Europe. This one had the nicest friendly yet spiritual feeling.
BerkenheadBerkenhead
Berkenhead

Liverpool waterfront from across the water
Famous SkylineFamous Skyline
Famous Skyline

Ferry approaches Liverpool dock side
Chinatown GateChinatown Gate
Chinatown Gate

Glowing in the sunlight
Thai mealThai meal
Thai meal

Looking out for Thai restaurant in Chinatown in Liverpool....don't bother...they are in city centre
Expensive MallExpensive Mall
Expensive Mall

Very big shopping mall


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb