The Gathering... New_lands Style


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
July 2nd 2016
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 55.8641, -5.10514

'Surprise! Surprise!'... will I pull it off? Well let's just wait and see shall we!

So my mission begins, after a lift to Paisley Canal from Laura and Gordon for the train to Wemyss Bay, I know I've a bit of time to kill before the family are all going to be at St Blane's in Kilchattan Bay so I quickly called my friend Gwen who I had been in touch with and arranged to get the train to Ayr instead as she would be on holiday by the time I got back. However I didn't realise that going to Ayr was off by track from Wemyss Bay, guess I've been away too long! It was no problem though, Gwen said she would drop me at the ferry terminal in Wemyss Bay so it gave us a time to catch up for a couple of hours at least.

So I'm on my way this time... the ferry only takes around 30 minutes from Wemyss Bay over to Rothesay and although my brother has offered to pick me up I declined saying I'd got this far and would be fine, and for him to head off for a beer instead. I'd
got this far so I reckon I'm good at this traveling stuff by now.

While on the ferry I made inquiries about getting to the bay however I discovered the next bus wasn't until 10pm that night, and one of the crew gave me a number for a taxi company. I gave them a call but they wanted 18 quid for a taxi down so instead I thought I'd ask around the boat and try and get a lift. I approached pretty much everyone in sight but they were all going local or the other direction so I was starting to loose hope, at this point however one of the crew said if I was stuck he would take me down after his shift. I then spotted one last family, mum, dad, two kids, dog and guess what... yep they were going to the bay. I explained I was going to St Blanes to surprise visit my family whom I hadn't seen for almost 5 years and they were hooked... enthrawled by the excitement of it all they squeezed me into their already overloaded car and took me with them.

As we left my stomach was in knots, the family were all excited for me and were very calming while we traveled south however, when we turned down towards the bay and I could see St Blanes, I became a bit overwhelmed at the prospect of it all. They stayed just before the big house and invited me in for a cup of tea to settle my nerves before I went down. It was perfect timing really, from their house window I can see that the boys are still out water ski-ing and having fun and my new Bute family said they had never seen the likes in Kilchattan Bay before! I met more of their family Anil's mum Josie and partner Ray who also welcomed me in and informed me that their were 4 big dogs up at the house... haha seems we've made an impact on the locals already! Carol kindly dropped me off at the house sneakily behind one of the trucks and by now it was almost 8:30pm on the Saturday night, surely no one would be expecting me now!

My heart was in my mouth as I made my way in through the gate, along the path, up the steps to the main double glass doors, where I took a deep breath and rang the door bell. Tick, tock, tick, tock, tick, tock...

I was standing, silently praying that one of the wee ones I've not even met yet, wouldn't answer the door, I've visions of me having to say 'Hi there, is your Daddy in?'... haha I can just see it now. Thankfully instead it was my brother Tony who answered so being the only one who knew I was coming, I was delighted. He led me into the lounge area where many of the family were sitting chatting, playing a bit of music and generally chilling out after dinner. 'Surprise...' I said as I walked in the room and instantly you could hear a pin drop... I was faced by all these confused faces which couldn't quite comprehend why I was here?

Gingerly I made my was round each of them with a big hug saying my hellos, 'Hi John, how are ya', 'Hey Carrie, lovely to see you', 'Hi Val, nice to see you again' etc. etc. until I managed to make my way round the whole room. Their faces were priceless and what made it even better was that Dad wasn't in the room
St BlanesSt BlanesSt Blanes

Kilchattan Bay, Isle of Bute
he was upstairs watching golf!

Tony then took me up to see him, chapping Dad's room door, 'Hello, come in' was the reply at which point I walked in and said hello back. Haha... Faither was brilliant, another completely speechless confused look for a response. After a hug and a seat beside him he then stood up, walked over to the dressing table and poured us both a dram out of an expensive bottle of whiskey he had stashed... after another hugs and a 'cheers' we downed the lot and he could finally speak... 'what are you doing here? how did you get here? but? but?... how?'... followed by a shake of the head... ahh bliss mission accomplished... absolutely brilliant and more than I could have hoped for!

So after a few minutes of us saying our hello's we made our way downstairs once more and back into the lounge where this time I was greeted by all the family with hugs, pats on the back, laughter and sheer disbelief that I was actually there, at the house, on the island, on the west coast of Scotland and not in the very south of Thailand, away traveling which I've been doing for almost 5 years.

In true Newlands style the ceilidh began with Eddie on the accordion, Tony and Matt on guitars and a good ole sing song started up for the night and we all sang along. The table was moved from the center of the floor to make way for a dance floor and the jiggin' soon began, the bar attached to the lounge which the guys had all stocked up began to take a pounding and ooh what it night it turned out to be. Their faces and stunned silence initially followed by their delight at me actually being there made keeping it a secret all worth while, and while I couldn't be happier actually being at home I still can't believe that I'm actually here at last, to see them.

So now for the first time in a long time I'm on a family holiday with the clan, weans and dugs included, on an island which seems like a million miles away, finally managing to talk and have a good old bleather with people who can actually understand me, without the comments of 'do you speak English?' haha.

Our days were started with a cup of tea at the kitchen table followed by breakfast in the massive dining room cooked by different one each morning (well I think I missed my turn to be honest), the family had all decided that it would be different people cooking each night, everyone taking their turning and letting us sample a few

and everyone had decided that different people were taking their cooking cleaning turns for the day which actually meant that oor Maria could actually get a day off haha. It gave everyone (well 2 or 3 cooking at a time for the 23 squad of a family) a turn, keeping everything as fair as possible, and gave everyone a night to shine with their cullinery skills.

Our days were filled either our in the boats, water ski-ing, wake boarding, kite surfin', canoeing, or out fishing, walking, hiking or exploring the island. And regrouping at night for incredible dinners ranging from roast beef and lamb with all the trimmings, a mexican night with fajitas, chilli with the works, an impressive BBQ from the boys, homemade pasta and pizza dishes and way more in between. After a rest once dinner was served and time for certain wee people to be tucked up in bed
Tony's lot!!Tony's lot!!Tony's lot!!

Missing you Joe, but enjoy your travels
after their day being exhausted, it was time for more dancing and partying with everyone and catching up. It was fabulous actually just having the time together as no-one was going anywhere for the whole week, and I loved every second of it although being freezing and exhausted on arrival.

Well I'll let some of the pictures speak for themselves but we're quite a bunch, although we had big boy toys we also had bicycles, skateboards, games etc for the kids and in the house there was a unicycle which a couple of the boys actually managed to do.

All in all, a wonderful surprise achieved, and a fantastic time was had by all. I love Scotland after all it's where the heart is, and with a clan like mine, who could blame me.

'Happy holidays everyone... are we having a good time?'




Additional photos below
Photos: 126, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

John'n'DianeJohn'n'Diane
John'n'Diane

Plus baby bump.... not long now!


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb