Home for a Surprise Visit...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
June 29th 2016
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Scottish ThistleScottish ThistleScottish Thistle

My favorite
Geo: 55.8656, -4.25722



Scotland... 2016... the family gathering.

Well I never thought in a million years that Scotland would appear in my travel blog, I always thought when I came back that would be travels over and time to start again... but instead I've managed a different path and I return for two weeks only to catch up with all the family.

There have been so many changes since I left, from loved ones no longer here to meeting new wee faces, that I was worried I would find it all a bit overwhelming, but guess what... the second I step off the plane at Glasgow Airport it feels like I've never been away despite it being almost 5 years ago.

My brother Tony organised a holiday house up in Kilchattan Bay on the Isle of Bute for a week, he came and went with everyone for dates etc. until it became apparent that all the
family were up for it. Dates were agreed and Tony's plan started coming together. Dad, all the brothers and sisters, wives, husbands, partners, kids, dugs... the works everyone was going to try and make it! What an achievement! Needless to say when I heard about it I was desperate
to go but hardly having a penny in my pocket I didn't see that
one being possible... anyway time told another story.

Although no intention of coming back, I was persuaded otherwise. I couldn't have come back on a one way ticket as 'in my head' that would have been travels over, so instead I started looking at the cheapest options and routes and with the kindness of help with the return from Tony my decision was made... 'what the hell'... after missing everyone for so long it was about time I returned and what a way to do it, Tony and I decided a surprise would be fab if we could pull it off so let's see what we can do.

Only problem was this left me in Glasgow for a night before everyone was heading up to the island so I contacted my friend Laura and her husband Gordon who were all up for the surprise plan and kindly collected me at Glasgow Airport, and put me up... time for a bit of secret squirriling to commence!

Freezing on arrival Laura gave me thick socks, jeans, walking boots, waterproof jacket and some other essentials for my stay, poured the three of us a glass of wine and sat enjoying a proper catch up. After a good night sleep it was time to plan what I would get up to, first things first though and breakfast was offered. OK What would you like? Well I had no hesitations on a mortons roll, tattie scone, square slice with a fried egg on top with a wee cup of tea.... haha I was in heaven. Aye to can take the lassie oot of Scotland but not Scotland oot the lass..

Some of the family aren't going to manage up to the island until the next day so instead of staying round the corner from home and with a strong chance of bumping into many of my family that stay around here, we decided for a trip to Troon for the afternoon which was fabulous. The trip down the coast brought back memories and after a good walk along the beach and the town, visiting wee candy stores, proper butchers (which I was drooling over), antique shops, charity shops, everything with Scottish gifts displayed I was starting to realise that I was actually home.

We couldn't nip doon the coast without going for a fish supper... there
Ahhh mortons rolls...Ahhh mortons rolls...Ahhh mortons rolls...

Tattie scone, square slice with an egg on top.... nom nom nom
is something very special about sitting by the sea eating out a wrapper, and todays choice was the Wee Hurrie doon in Troon which is well famed. Although a bit of a wait for our order, it was worth it, even more so by adding a pickle on the side which I always loved doing. We took them down to the front and sat enjoying the view. Haha Laura said my face was a picture when I bit into the pickle, jaws all sooked together with the vinegar... it was just as I remembered!

So what a start, after a bit of telly once back to the house, the next day I would head up and surprise the family. So far so good and I've not bumped into anyone, hopefully this will continue so I can surprise everyone as planned!

Fingers crossed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0973s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb