Pre-birthday shopping blitz!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Leeds
February 24th 2012
Published: February 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Up early, breakfast then school work/diaries/technology catch up.

Did my research and found the local equivalent of Warrawong westfield - but so much better and bigger. So off we set! Loved the tom tom (yes, I know even more technology.) Besides getting a mobile I wanted to check out the UK equivalent of walmart (kmart but better).

Instead I found this amazing shop that was like best and less on steroids. I went nuts - well not as crazy as i would normally - who can resist 3.50 pound for two kids tshirts!!!!! I pretend they're souveners. I put a lot back, really wished Terri and Lara were here to see this! The dual shopping queens wouldn't believe it! Think i will be sending back a lot more than I thought! Luckily the shoes I loved (about 10 pairs) were not in my size. The name of this mecca is Primark.

Introduced the kids to WH Smith - again too many bargains, and Thorntons chocolates.

Then to Sainsburys - OMG - clothes, food, everything. I dumped the family and wandered around like a complete tourist, sooooooo many ready meals, tooooooo many things I wanted to try. Pack of complete Indian takeaways- included rice, curries and accompaniments all in a big takeaway box for under 10.00 pound. Got a huge 200g wedge of french brie - 1 pound!!!!!!! OK OK i know I didn't come to shop but I really thing grocery shopping gets you immersed in local culture quicker than anything. The kids were totally under whelmed - resorted to bribery.

Kasey bought her first doll - what a suprise! Cooper saved his money.

I skipped Boots, M&S and many other stores. I realsie now i have a problem so i suspect from now on Greg will be doing the hunter gathering at the shops for food. I can't trust myself.

We had a late lunch and then out to kick the ball around. Beautiful sunny afternoon after a drizzly morning.

The house is amazingly warm - central heating isn't need really until dark. We just put it on when we need it, not too often as the house is so well insulated.

York tomorrow - my birthday treat!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

King of cataloguesKing of catalogues
King of catalogues

I love them at home - this one is kilos in weight, won't be bring it with me
the housethe house
the house

view from top of back yard


27th February 2012

Sweet
I like the house. It looks like 4 storeys. I found out yesterday that I made it to the A side for soccer - yeah. Cummins Commits are in the lead for the ashes! My mum says she wishes she was there to eat the cheese with you. She says Jo should go grocery shopping everyday - don't leave it to Greg!!!!
4th March 2012

hi
yeah it is a very big house, it started sleeting today and there was a local game on the soccer field next door even though it was freezing. Congrats on the A side - who else made your team? let me know all your results. will try and skype soon.
28th February 2012
Shoppers

Smiles...
Nice smiles...:-))))
28th February 2012
my first docket!

I love grocery shooping too is that weird!!!
Good to see some real food there too Jo..like veggies. What's crumbed ham? and white vinegar 4 pounds ahhh!
28th February 2012
King of catalogues

Living for less
"Living for less "Jo I think that means stop shopping less is more lol!!!!
28th February 2012
A girl and her doll

Great Doll Kasey!!!
Wow Kasey what a great doll....my last doll I left on a greek island trip in the caves...I remember crying and my sister gave me her's to hold just for the photo...I still had a sad grumpy face on as I knew it was only temporary!!! I was 3 years old.
28th February 2012
the house

House Insulation Info..
Great house lots of room by the looks of it...I know the Europian house insulation it's amazing and bloody logical. Imagine how the Swedish houses are theya re so obsessed with practical designs...Roger's says the hardest thing to adjust when he moved to Oz was how badly the houes are insulated...like a house tent! Still if the house gets a bit breezey he puts a jumper on or sox even in summer as he is not sue to feelign any cold been in doors...I use to say you are from a -40oc country and it's 18oc and you need a jumper on...it took me a while but I wokred it out! Me so clever!
28th February 2012
Primark

Brown Paper Bag...
Mmmm Jo gone mad...as long as there is no shot with bag over your head....lol!
28th February 2012

well ...
You know our addresses. No use telling us about the cheap stuff unless you send us some in a box!
1st March 2012

Are you a bag lady now?
Collecting greeen bags along the way? Are these going to be our pressies?
2nd March 2012

Collections
Yes, I'm collecting the bags, beats spoons!
6th March 2012

From Caleb to Cooper
Hi all, with soccer it is pretty much the same team as last year but Joel and Cain got in. Riley read your speech for you today and your debate won congrats. You are just like me and ryan who also won. Hope to find out about where you are and what you are doing . Caleb

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb