We have a "Flat"!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » London
September 8th 2010
Published: September 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ben and KirkBen and KirkBen and Kirk

This is Ben with the guy who helped us find our apartment, Kirk. He works for a real estate agency, and arranged for us to "let a flat" for the month.
Hey there everyone! Great news! We finally found a place to live for the rest of our stay here!! Yay!!

It is a studio "flat" (that is what they call an apartment) with 3 areas. The first area is a living room/bedroom with a TV, internet access, a dresser, couch, and fouton. Ben and I are sleeping on the fouton. The TV only has a few channels, including BBC. But at least that way, I can watch the news. 😊

The next area is a very narrow kitchen. It is so narrow that when I open a drawer, I have to stand to one side of it because it almost hits the wall on the other side! But, it has a toaster, clothes washer, small refridgerator, and oven and "hob" (what they call the stove). so, although it is not very big, it will suit our needs nicely. I am so glad that I don't have to go to a "laundrette" (a laundromat) to do our laundry. It is gonna be so nice to just do it in the comfort of our own place.

The last room is the bathroom, which is so small that when I stand
The Living room / BedroomThe Living room / BedroomThe Living room / Bedroom

It's PINK!! YAY!!
up from the toilet, I am already standing right in front of the sink to wash my hands! There is also a shower in there.

So, other than the place being tiny, I think it will work well for us for this month. It will be nice to come home at the end of the month to our spacious apartment! This entire place could probably fit into our living room at our apartment back home! I have attached some pictures so you can see what I mean 😊

Now that we have our own place officially, we will be able to relax more and enjoy more of London! Hopefully we will be posting pictures and blogs of all the cool places we are seeing soon!!

Miss you all bunches!

Michelle and Ben


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The KitchenThe Kitchen
The Kitchen

The very narrow kitchen
The BathroomThe Bathroom
The Bathroom

It is so convenient that after "doing your business" all you have to do is stand up to wash your hands! No walking across the room! :)


9th September 2010

Great !!!!
Dear Michelle and Ben - Your apartment looks great. I am sure it will fit your needs for the short time you are there. It reminds me of the "rec room" we lived in Columbus, Ohio. We made out just fine, but I had to go to the laudromat to wash and dry clothes. Do you have a dryer? We are very happy for you. Love you, Oma
10th September 2010

That looks like a nice place.
15th September 2010

Dryer?
Oma! Yes, the apartment is working out nicely for the month. I have the luxury of a washer in the apartment, but no, we don't have a dryer. They have been kind enough to provide us with some drying racks for our clothes, so it all works out. Love you lots!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb