Day 11 & 12 - The journey home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 15th 2017
Published: March 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It was an early start today. I was up and sorted by 6.30am. Ella has borrowed the Cli car to take me to Agadir to get the bus to Essouira. The bus leaves at 8am. I've allowed plenty of time for myself. I hate last minute rushing!

Just before we left, we had a couple of last minute selfies, and a lovely last photo of the amazing view out of the salon window.

There wasn't much traffic going to Agadir early in the morning, so we got there easy. Chakib checked my bag in for me inside the bus station, then as Ella and I were checking out my seat number.... I realised..... I had taken my glasses off for that final photo!!! Oh no.... I'm as blind as a bat without them! I decide that I'll have to get my prescription sunglasses out of the cafe when I get to Essouira.

The bus journey took about three hours. That is a long time for that journey, but we did stop off for a welcome toilet/coffee break.

As I have done this trip before, I knew that the bus was going nowhere near the Medina; that five minute taxi ride would be a twenty minute walk in the heat of the day, so a taxi it was!

I walked into the medina, straight to coffee corner. I sat in the sun, enjoying a cheese panini and what turned out to be my final nous nous!

I unfastened my case to find my sunglasses..... oh no! I had forgotten that one of the arms of my sunglasses had fallen off earlier in the holiday, but even worse, now the second arm has also fallen off!

I asked the guy in corner cafe if there is an optician nearby. Apparently I need to walk left! After I'd finished eating and drinking, I set off left, with no luck, but I did bump into a guy that Hudy and I had eaten at his restaurant when we were here in October, he shouted to me as I passed. I showed him my glasses, he said he would get them mended for 10 dirham. I took him at his word. I sat in his cafe, and waited for only ten minutes. He came back grinning! Perfect, I can see again, even if it is a bit dark!

Soon after, I left to get my taxi; I assured him that I really did not want a Moroccan man, but thanked him for his help!

From there, it has been pretty straight forward. I arrived at the airport in good time.

Again, I am happy that I upgraded to EasyJet Plus; I like the speedy boarding process, and the added bonus of getting through the process quickly, and hassle free. They have put my hand luggage in the hold which was a bit of a shock, as I haven't paid for one!

The flight was straight forward, no hassles. I got through customs pretty straight forward.

Then the problem started! The pre paid taxi that I had booked online, did not show up. I was so angry. I was tired after a long day. All I wanted was to get to the guesthouse, get a hot bath and go to bed.... that's not a lot to ask! But that definitely wasn't happening! I rang the contact number three times, no joy! I emailed, no joy! I was getting more angry with every passing minute!

I went to the taxi office, Addison Lee, the girl there was really helpful, she also tried to make sense of my situation; I had email confirmation, and a receipt, but no joy! Eventually I got in their taxi, so had to pay a second time, but at least I can now wind down in the bath!

I arrived at the Peace Apartments... OMG, I think it's a doss house! Horrendous! Not like the Booking.com advert, at all! I was thinking, can this get any worse?

The answer was, of course, yes! I walked up the stairs to a room with a key in the door, as the woman had told me on the phone, the bed was clean, and it did fit into the room, just! Bit still, only sleeping in there, and I can lock my door!

Now for my relaxing bath, I couldn't believe it.... there was no lock on the bathroom door, not only that I couldn't get a bath, nor a shower, or a strip wash, I was even stressing when I wanted to go to toilet, so I held on as long as possible. The bed was comfy, but because of how I felt, I had a really uncomfortable night. Because of my frustration, I decided to watch a bit of TV on my iPad, as there is nothing but the bed and me in the room! I watched for about half an hour, then my months internet was expired!!!

The morning came, I had to pay £7 for internet so that I could use my phone to get from A to B. I set off early, knowing how the previous night had gone, I wanted to allow time for hiccups!

I set off, the great unwashed, the first thing was to get to Luton Airport Parkway, my sat mac said 1.2 miles walking, but I could see that the route was all on major roads with no paths, not the best idea. I asked people around for bus information, either they really didn't know, or they just don't want to be involved! I get more help when stuck in India, China or Morocco! At least people are willing to help!

The only other option is a taxi, I rang the one that dropped off last night, but were on London peak time prices! £28.00 later, and a ten minute ride, I know where I am! I actually filled up with tears, from relief! From here, I am confident that the end of the journey will be straight forward. I just need to get on the 11.48 to Hull.

The end of another journey is nigh!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb