Day 10 - My final full day with Ella and Chakib


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Agadir
March 14th 2017
Published: March 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I woke early this morning, got up and made myself a Nespresso! Hmmm.... that is a luxury here! I'm so pleased that Ella bought herself the machine and milk aerator when she was home at Xmas. So pleased that o carried 100 Nespresso pods from U.K. this trip too; I'm benefiting from it now! The only issue was, I loaded the coffee pod, filled the milk aerator, pressed the button.... but forgot to place the cup! Doh! .... and restart!

I had coffee in bed, then heard more movement in the apartment. Ella was pleased with herself, up, showered, and out for a run already! Then, another surprise, Chakib was up, showered, and going out to do business! Also going to get my return ticket to Essouira.

Although Larsen at Cli Surf had said he would pick one up for me, Ella did warn me that it never happen. A general Moroccan habit is to say yes, and agree to almost anything, regardless of what you will actually be doing! It's a cultural thing! But I know that I can always rely on Chakib!

It's now 9.30, Ella has gone to work for an hour, or two, Chakib had also left, Christina not home yet. In fact she's not been home overnight the whole time I've been here.

I finished the last bits of washing for Ella, I went out on the terrace to hang the last few bits out. It's the first morning it's happened since I have kbeen here; no sun this morning! It's a lovely, cool, overcast sky, with just enough cool breeze! It's only 19 degrees. I'm enjoying it, because it has been in 30 - 35 every day!

Ella came back from work, she threw a beef stew together in the slo-cooker, then we set off to Cafe Mona for breakfast, before catching the bus to Agadir.

We didn't have to wait long before the bus arrived. It's about a twenty minute ride into Agadir. Ella has a few jobs to do today, she needs visa photos and papers photocopying so she can extend her visa. We got all the jobs done, then stopped for coffee.

Fifteen minutes later, we were joined by Chakib and the man he is currently doing his business with. We all chatted over coffee in the sun, discussing the current, and future tourist improvements to Taghazout.

We set off touring all around Agadir looking for amlou for me to bring home! We tried so many shops, but it was difficult to find the sort that I wanted. We could get the almond oil version, but it was more difficult to find the peanut oil version, but eventually after lots of patience, and searching, we found some! I just hope that, after all the trouble taken to buy it, I don't get it taken off me at the airport!

We went on to the Ripcurl shop for Ella to look at some wetsuits. Chakib's friend dropped us there, then he went on his way.

We walked on a while, stopping off for a drink and toilet stop! I'm having an avocado milkshake, with dates and figs. It's like eating a meal!

All jobs done, we head off for a taxi, Chakib saw one coming by, it had two people in that he knew, plus the driver, then the three of us also got in. I was pushing against the drivers headrest all the way; worried incase the door flew open! But it didn't. We arrived in Taghazout safely!

On our return to the apartment, we had a quick turnaround to get ready for tonight's yoga session. We went over to the yoga studio at Cli, the wind is so strong today, the floor is covered with so much dust and sand! I swept, Ella mopped, but there wasn't much improvement!

The wind was simply howling across the cane roof top of the yoga studio, it sounded like a hurricane. Dust and sand continued to blow in, regardless of our cleaning. It soon be came apparent that we could not have a meditation session in this environment!

We decided to move over to the Riad, hopefully we could complete the session before the group of 32 return from Agadir!

The meditation was good, really relaxing. Again, I was pleased that I participated. The group returned, just as we were finishing.

We went back to the apartment, the smell of Ella's beef stew met us at the door. I was quite peckish, but even if I wasn't; the smell was good enough to make you want to eat! Chakib was already home, we all enjoyed the stew and dumplings.

'Happy' Larsen rang to say he wanted to say goodbye to me! Aw, bless him! How nice that he made the effort! He stayed for half an hour or so, before going back home, as he has left his cousin at his house whilst he popped round.

I've just got to pack my bag and get a shower. Reforestation bed, as it's an early start tomorrow.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb