Day 9 - Another easy day.... or so I thought!


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Agadir
March 12th 2017
Published: March 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Strangely, I feel like I had a late night last night, even though in reality, I didn't!

I was up and about at about 7.45. I made a coffee, then took it back to my bedroom. I heard Ella stirring at about 8.15; she is going in to work for an hour or so this morning, just to help get the group, organised for their breakfast, and first day surfing.

Chakib and I get an hours snooze time. We have instruction from Ella. Chakib will walk with me to buy my ticket to return to Essouira, the bus doesn't go all the way to the airport, so I can get off the bus, take lunch, then get a taxi to the airport. I already know the difference of the taxis! From Essouira, the red Peugeot said cannot go to the airport, you must take a big taxi! Judy and I had a right going on the last time I was here, not an error I will make again!

After buying the ticket, we will meet with Ella at Cafe Mona for breakfast, before heading down to the beach. Plans done!

It wasn't the best start! We set off, as instructed, to buy the bus ticket.... it was closed! We continued on to the cash office; I will need more Dirham..... office closed! Then we realised it is Sunday! Time, day, or date are not important here! Well, not until you are preparing to leave! I'm not concerned, someone, whoever is going into Agadir today will but me a bus ticket!

Chakib and I walk on to Cafe Mona for breakfast. We get the usual omelette, bread, juice and nous nous, whilst we wait for Ella. The orange juice here is particularly good, obviously due to the lovely fresh oranges that are available in abundance. I did mention to Ella one day; when I have a drink of the fruit juice, I feel like I've actually eaten!

Ella joined us with Larsen from Cli Surf, not last nights Larsen! They had got all of the guests, fed, suited and boarded, then away on the mini buses to 17, which is where they will be surfing today. After Ella has caught up with breakfast we are going to walk down to meet with them.

It was about 46 minute walk down to 17. Walking in the sand is hard work on your legs. We arrived to find the group having a great time. They had come out of the water, waiting for lunch to arrive. Ella and I took some bananas and oranges, which were surplus to their requirements, for ourselves, and a bottle of water each. Just enough to keep you going!

We sunbathed, chatted, swam, and generally relaxed the day away. It's another hot one! There was a bit of a flurry on the beach; a Moroccan guy was enjoying his time there so much he hadn't taken his insulin, the Cli guys saw to him, loaded him with fruit, so all was well after about ten minutes. Ella and I set off on the walk home, in the red hot sun, it wasn't an easy return!

But, we are back now, recovering! After a bit of a rest, Ella and I decided to get the washing done, by hand! She normally takes it into Agadir to get it done, but I think with me being here, it's thrown her out of routine. We managed to get it done using 2 big buckets, luckily, the shower is like a wet room, so it wasn't too bad.

Me and Chakib then got it all hung out to dry on the terrace. One good thing here, it certainly won't take long to dry!

Ella is doing a yoga class at six O'clock, so going to do the session with her. It'll be my first for a long time! But I'm looking forward to it!

The yoga session went much better than I had expected. I managed to keep up. I was quite happy with my effort. I should try and get back into doing more when I get home!

We borrowed the Cli car to go to Taghazout for tea. Great idea! We had gone about ten minutes down the road..... it completely stopped, in the middle of a black nowhere! Then the police came, I was a really panicky inside, as the police are quite corrupt here, I was quietly fearing the worst! But they just asked Chakib to move the car into a safer spot! Phew!

Chakib managed to get hold of a friend, he picked him up to go and get some petrol, he's been gone about ten minutes now, I do hope he gets back soon! It is pitch black outside!

I was so pleased to see Chakib return.... but then it got worse! The car takes diesel, Ella hadn't even considered the difference, although I did mention it to her! Poor Chakib had flown around Taghazout to buy some illegal petrol, as the real petrol station is miles away in the opposite direction!

Finally, we decided to get out, flag a taxi down, leave the car! Chakib has rang his friend Brahmin, who had driven to Banana village to buy diesel. We got a taxi really quickly, and arrived in Taghazout. My nerves are in tatters! We ordered food whilst waiting for Brahim, to be honest, I know I'm hungry, but my appetite ran out at the same time as the petrol did! The food was lovely, but it was difficult to eat!

Brahim arrived at Le Spot, where we were eating..... bless him! He had been and bought diesel, brought it to the restaurant, and waited for us to eat, so he could take us back to the car. What an angel!

We arrived at the car, Chakib fitted the small water bottle, with a hole cut out the side, (the funnel), the poured in the diesel out of the litre water bottle!! Yes, we have diesel in the car...... Chakib turned the key...,.. nothing, bloody nothing! We were on such a steep gradient on a hill that the diesel would not run through!!! When will this end? Chakib worked the handbrake, enough to let the car roll downhill, the problem being that because the engine wouldn't turn, nothing worked: brakes, powered steering etc! So we rolled down hill, into potential incoming traffic, then he whipped it into a reversing 3 point turn, which then allowed us to change direction to forwards, turned the engine, as we were now going downhill, the diesel went to were it was supposed to go...... finally, we are on our way! O... M ... G!!! Thank you soooooo much to Chakib for all his effort!

What a night!

We got home, after a coffee.... and a few cigarettes, I did relax again!

Now to bed! As this was, allegedly, a non eventful day, I haven't even taken any photos!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb