Last 2 Days in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 15th 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tower of LondonTower of LondonTower of London

This particular picture is of the tower where the Crown Jewels are kept.
This entry is going to be short...because my next one will be really long! During our remaining time in London, we toured the Tower of London and saw Chicago in the Cambridge Theatre in the West End.

The Tower of London was really neat- we did the hour tour given by a Beefeater, and he was hilarious to listen to and also very informative. Then we wandered through the towers and saw the Crown Jewels (including the largest diamond in the world) and varying places where people were tortured, etc in history...

Chicago was a lot of fun to watch. I enjoy the music from it, and it was great getting to see it live- it definitely makes me want to go to more shows!

My Dad left this morning (Saturday) which was quite sad. He was a lot of fun to travel with, and I miss him!! After delivering him to the train station, Nate and I bought some bread and cheese and set out. We saw the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace, and then walked around Hyde Park for several hours. It still blows my mind how many people are there...not doing anything, but
ChicagoChicagoChicago

The outside of the Cambridge Theatre where we saw Chicago.
just sitting around on the grass enjoying the day. There must have been thousands of people there... It was a lovely park!

We were going to go see Pirates of the Carribean II that night at the West End, but then we discovered that tickets were 12.5 £ each...which meant it would have been $50. We veteoed that idea, and instead ate some Hagan-Daaz and left... We ate dinner at a pub called The Anchor, and then sat along the river for a while, soaking up the atmosphere for the last night. I really like the Southbank area....

Finally- Dad, I posted a picture of the river that night so you can see how high it got. The Thames River must drop and rise about 50-100 feet each day...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Nag's HeadThe Nag's Head
The Nag's Head

We liked the name of this pub, and I found it amusing that the nag is an old gray mare... We stopped by right after Chicago.
My Daddy and IMy Daddy and I
My Daddy and I

Dad and I on his last night in London!
Mounted PolicemanMounted Policeman
Mounted Policeman

This is the 12 year old horse Bucksley and the mounted policeman who were standing near us the whole time during changing of the guards.
Changing of the GuardsChanging of the Guards
Changing of the Guards

The guardsmen marching by...
Hyde ParkHyde Park
Hyde Park

Anna, I thought you might appreciate this in particular. There were a bunch of geese and ducks in Hyde Park, and they all swam underwater for quite a ways...I was impressed at least.
Water Level...Water Level...
Water Level...

Dad- this is how high the water gets, since you were wondering...


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb