First 2 Days in London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 13th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

DessertDessertDessert

For Maria's viewing pleasure...
We made it in to London safely on Wednesday afternoon. I sat next to a 22 year old girl named Kate from Hungary on the plane over who had never flown before, so we talked most of the time and that was really cool. When we landed in the airport, Nate was waiting for us and then he, my Dad, and I headed in to London to find out hotels.

Wednesday night we walked around the Southbank area of the Thames River, and it was beautiful. We ate in a 350 year old pub called The Anchor and it had wonderful food and tasty desserts (picture of the desserts posted specially for Maria- you're welcome.) Then we wandered around the area and watched the sun set, plus we got to see the London Tower Bridge be raised for a boat... The weather here is amazing- it has been constantly breezy and feels like it is about 70 degrees- it has never felt hot...

Today (Thursday) we saw Big Ben, Westminster Abbey (didn't pay to go inside though), toured through the Churchill War Museum, which was really informative and very interactive. We also saw Buckingham Palace and toured through the
London Tower BridgeLondon Tower BridgeLondon Tower Bridge

Nate and I in front of the Bridge (before it opened...)
Royal Mews (Nate and Dad were very nice about humouring me). The Royal Mews is basically the stables, and it has the horses and coaches that they use.

There were other things we saw too, but I just have 10 minutes left so I am going to see how many pictures I can get uploaded in that time!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dad & the Millenium EyeDad & the Millenium Eye
Dad & the Millenium Eye

Here is Dad with his favorite ferris wheel in the background!!
Me with my truck...Me with my truck...
Me with my truck...

Dad spotted this truck as we were eating breakfast this morning!!
Nila & a GuardNila & a Guard
Nila & a Guard

We're not exactly sure why this guard has blonde hair coming out of the top of his hat...
Royal MewsRoyal Mews
Royal Mews

This is the royal coach used only for Coronations.... 12 layers of pure gold!!


14th July 2006

Swim Free!
I am so jealous. You are doing way cool traveling type things and it looks awesome. The pictures are absolutely amazing. You are going to have to do some crazy things and tell me about them when we get back to school. We can even have it like a briefing. I expect you to prepare a board with charts and graphs and stuff too. Hope that things continue to go well. I know I will be checking back.
16th July 2006

Awesome pictures
Nila - these pictures are the best. I'm so glad your camera dried out! I know you're having the time of your life - memories you'll never forget! Here's hoping your studies at Oxford go well. Wain's new room doesn't have internet, so he'll have to wait to see the rest of these when he gets home (? no idea when that will be). Love, Nancy

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb