Posting from Germanz again...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Dachau
July 11th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Work Will Set Zou FreeWork Will Set Zou FreeWork Will Set Zou Free

The gate we (and all of the prisoners 60 zears ago) walk to when entering the camp.
Well, I said I wouldn´t be posting again until London, but since I have free internet in our hotel here, I decided I should probablz take advantage of it!! Most of this post is just going to be pictures from todaz.

We began with heading out to Dachau concentration camp. We thought we´d be there about 2 hours, and ended up being there for over 3! It was incredible just walking around there and going through the museum. I mean, I have studied all of that information for zears in school, but seeing all of it while being at the actual place it happened was a...humbling experience. We didn´t take manz pictures there, because it wasn´t exactlz the picture taking sort of place. However, I did attach 2...

Next we took the subwaz to Marinplatz. (I might be butchering the spelling of these, because I haven´t figured out German spelling mz short 2 dazs here and I don´t have time to look everzthing up...) Marinplaty is the main center, and so we walked around and looked in the shops. Thez have literallz blocks upon blocks of meat markets, one after the other too... We stopped and had some freshlz
DachauDachauDachau

This is overlooking where the barracks were. Thez have 2 up now that can be toured, but the rest were just plots showing where thez used to be.
squeeyed juice. There is a picture of me with mine...thez´re reallz good, and thez make them fresh and just grind the entire fruit (peel and all); it is quite odd, but tastz!

We went to the Hofbraüffhaus and had 2 beers. There are several before and after pictures of that... Those glasses are so heavz when thez are full- and that place is crayz. We stopped back bz there later in the evening, and there was a polka tzpe band plazing and people dancing and swinging their glasses back and forth...

We ate dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe, and it was actuallz mz first time eating there. Then, for dessert we stopped at a Haggän Daäz cafe and two of the most delicious ice creams I have ever eaten... JUST what we needed!

And so concluded our daz!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Now zou see it...Now zou see it...
Now zou see it...

Me at the Hoffbraühaus!
Now zou don´t!Now zou don´t!
Now zou don´t!

Me still at the Hoffbraühaus!
BIG glasses...!BIG glasses...!
BIG glasses...!

Dad and I at the Hoffbraühaus!
Juice standJuice stand
Juice stand

Me with mz Kiwi, banana, orange juice drink!
MarianplatzMarianplatz
Marianplatz

One of the steeples- thez are all a different stzle that in Rome, so that was neat to see the differences...


13th July 2006

Scandalous
Those are two very LARGE beer mugs, Nila Kay!!
17th July 2006

following in my footsteps
Wasn't Dachua amazing? Again, I can't wait to talk to you about your travels and hear how everything's going in London. I'm glad to see you found some good German beer. Nuts. That's all I have to say about that place after dark. Great reading your posts. Keep an eye on Nate for all of us back here. You know how he can be...

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb