A London Summer


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 7th 2008
Published: September 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I couldn't resistI couldn't resistI couldn't resist

Being a tourist in my own town...Red letterboxes after a day out and shopping!
So, the next stop after Thailand was London! It was time to head back to the homeland and see all my lovely friends and family. The first thing I noticed as I was being driven back from the airport was the amount of sky I could see, and 2 storey houses. I kept thinking, now why wouldn't they just built that up ten more storeys?! It's amazing how much you notice when you've been away for a while! Going up stairs in my own house was a novelty, and I laughed when I couldn’t remember where we kept the teabags in my own kitchen!

Over the weeks I spent at home, I fully appreciated every cup of tea, good fresh bread, and cheese of all things! I enjoyed a ‘western Chinese’ take away, as prawn crackers and lemon chicken don’t actually exist in HK. I didn’t mind walking anywhere because there was space all around me, and no one to share the pavement with or bash into constantly! A real luxury. I found myself going to say mmgoi instead of excuse me in a supermarket which was very strange, I didn’t realise Hong Kong had seeped into me quite so
British SkyBritish SkyBritish Sky

There's so much sky!!
much. I got excited when I went to Chinatown and saw Pocky, a snack found all over HK. So many small things I noticed, both things that I had missed from the UK and things I now picked up on having spent a year in HK.

I always found it hard when I was asked, so what's the best thing about Hong Kong? Or, what's Hong Kong like? It's such a loaded question and having been there for so long, I find it hard to pin point it now. It's just a way of life and a culture that I enjoy!

I had a lovely time catching up with friends and family all over, getting up to date with a years’ worth of gossip, and at the same time saying my goodbyes for another year in Hong Kong! I can’t resist it…there are things in Hong Kong I have yet to explore, a good job, and good opportunities so the next stop…Hong Kong take 2!

I'm looking forward to seeing what this year brings! Jen x


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Western Chinese take-away...Western Chinese take-away...
Western Chinese take-away...

Lemon chicken and prawn crackers...these don't actually exist in China!!
Chinatown!Chinatown!
Chinatown!

I saw Pocky in London!!
Baby!!!Baby!!!
Baby!!!

Visiting new babies!! Emmie and Reuben
Henley RegattaHenley Regatta
Henley Regatta

Out with uni friends at Henley Regatta
School friendsSchool friends
School friends

Good British food!
HK to UKHK to UK
HK to UK

Mini Chatteris Reunion
Chatteris BuddiesChatteris Buddies
Chatteris Buddies

Reunion in Leicester Square


Tot: 0.412s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 27; qc: 131; dbt: 0.1719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb