Derbyshire 64 - Chesterfield /building a new hospital in record time/Walking gives you aching ankles /British Summer Time


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Chesterfield
March 29th 2020
Published: March 29th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Day 9 of lockdown. I think it is Day 9 but then again it could be any day. The days are drifting by. The household jobs are being done and ticked off one by one. Scones were made. The music listened to was Queen . The wonderful Freddie Mercury entertained me whilst I cooked .

The daily walk takes place . Being a Sunday it is quiet. A few cars passed by as I walked . An ambulance roared past me. I wondered where he was going. All this walking may be good for the weight but it plays havoc on the ankles . The weather too was cold . It even began to snow. So much for British Summer Time . An extra hour in bed or an extra hour sitting on the couch.

A new hospital is being built from scratch. Well not quite from scratch . It is one of the conference centres in London that is currently unused as gatherings are banned. London having a massive population is being hit hard by the virus. Hour by hour we see cubicles being built inside and Oxygen bottlles sited outside . It seems fascinating to see where the cubicles are coming from. Where are the beds coming from ?

The military are being utilised to help run the facilities if and when we need it . 1000 have died and we listen to Andrew Marr telling it like it is . The Royal Mint are producing masks instead of money . Beds seem to be coming from somewhere and ventilators are being produced by Dyson and other manufacturers. Italy is still the epicentre of a massive epidemic. Hundreds and Thousands are doing things for the country . Joe Wickes has become an on line sensation giving us exercise for every day. The Prime Minister has written to all of us telling us what to expect . Food parcels are being produced for those shielding . Those are the most vulnerable. An army of volunteers have signed up to help the vulnerable . Talk is that this will go on until June,

As we listen we are told that the numbers dying are actually low compared to the overall population of the world . It all makes for fascinating reading and viewing. The questions being asked are around "Have we done enough?" "Are we doing enough?" It is time to be positive. Let's ditch the negative . So how about this one to set us up for the day - this one is Zen practice " Letting go means accepting life just as it is ; elusive, free , spontaneous and without limits ".

So what is your Zen plan for the day?

Advertisement



29th March 2020

Zen!
"Inner Stillness is the key to Outer Strength" and we certainly need it in these troubled times. x
29th March 2020

Zen
I love a bit of Zen = I think as I have got older I have become an atheist but I do like a bit of philosophy . I love my rip a day off at a time calendar . Its the first thing I read in the morning . Hopefully you are still coping coming towards the end of isolation. xx
29th March 2020

Zen!
My sisters grandson who lives in USA is called Zen River!! lol! different!! I week in self isolation left - I think we have enough food to last the week! Apart from shopping for ourselves I don't expect life to be much different!! Im planning on staying in all of the summer - apart from garden and allotment. Not sure we will make it out to Spain this year either!! Watch this space!! Hope you are surviving well too? I find it quite relaxing to just ...well...stop...I suppose! x
30th March 2020

Zen
Glenn laughs at me with my blogs and my quotations . Think he thinks I am a little bit crazy. Countdown begins for you. It is surreal out of there in the world . Dont see many out on my morning walks . I can hear the birds and the silence . Air smells nice too. No longer diesel and cars . Went for BP test this morning . For the first time in years my BP has gone up - too much coffee I think , Will have to contain myself . Blood test done - just waiting for results . Might take all week to get them . Not that I am worrying too much . Whats the worse ? Work can sack me and being the government what a story that would be . LOL I think we will all have the best gardens all this gardening , Here were we all looking forward to our last year abroad before Brexit kicks in . x

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb