The Train Fiasco


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
February 12th 2008
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gamla StanGamla StanGamla Stan

This is the "old city" of Stockholm.
Yesterday was my birthday. I slept in, then I got up and took the bus to the terminal. Then I took the commuter train to the city, where I took the subway to Gamla Stan. Gamla Stan is the old part of Stockholm. I walked around and bought a notebook and some postcards. Then I had some hot chocolate and a sandwich before meeting Mia and Elin at the subway. We went to the movies and saw Gone Baby Gone, which was okay.

We went to the SF Bio at Hotorget. There's a Pizza Hut there for those Americans looking for comfort food. Then the fun began. I left Gamla Stan subway station and landed at the Central Station. When I reached there, I was waiting on the platform for the train. Well then the train I needed suddenly disappeared from the schedule monitor. After calling Robin and hearing several announcements I didn't understand and watching the people make a mass exodus to a train I didn't need to get on, I figured out that a cable had broken on the train tracks.

So there were no trains going where I needed to go. I was considering taking the subway to Farsta, then finding a bus from there. I ended up taking a train to Alvsjo then waiting there. Finally, the trains started coming again and I made it home, but it took me 2 and a half hours. I went by Robin's to get my birthday gift and then I went home and slept.

Moral of the story: SL (the company that runs the public transport) is the devil sometimes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb