Stockholm Serenade


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My Apartment BuildingMy Apartment BuildingMy Apartment Building

This is where I live now. We are the next to top on the right side there. :)
Well it's been some time since I have written in this blog, so I supposed today was a good day to start. For those of you who are unfamiliar with my life, you might not know how reassured I feel that I can once again click Sweden in the location box. Anyhow, I am south of Stockholm in a suburb and so far it has been interesting. There are still some patches of woods here, which is nice. It hasn't been as cold as it was in Lulea. It still gets dark early though. Anyhow, I live pretty close to my friend, Robin, who you may remember from my Lulea entries. Mia, also from those entries, is in the city. I see her from time to time. Robin's mom is visiting right now from Gothenburg, so that's nice.

Allright so some things to know about Stockholm:
1. It has a vast public transport network that includes: ferries, commuter trains, subways, busses, the airport train, and regular trains. There are taxis too.
2. There are *alot* of museums here. Seriously, there is the Nordic Museum, the Medeival Times Museum, the Vasa Museum, the Museum of Natural History, etc. So if you're into that, come here. They're building one for ABBA too by the way.
3. It's really a network of islands. Skeppsholmen, Kungsholmen, Liljeholmen..etc are all islands.
4. It's the home of the bank where the whole term Stockholm Syndrome came from. I've been there, it's not that impressive.
5. It's the capital city of Sweden and home to the Riksdag (parliament) and the Royal Palace.
6. The old part of Stockholm, Gamla Stan, is pretty cool with alleyways and coal chutes and cobblestone streets. Most of the tourist shops are there.
7. There are alot of cool hotels in Stockholm. They just opened up a new Clarion one that's been getting rave reviews.
8. You can take a boat to nearby Gotland or to Helsinki, Finland.

Anyway, it has been interesting, but I have to say I do miss Lulea. I'm a small town girl. I also miss having Johan's car, though I can live without it. Apparently it's cheap to ship cars over here so if I come back, I will definitely be boating my car right on over and no one can tell me I can't have my automatic and big trunk space hmm?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb