A crazy man's crazy dream begins


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
July 20th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

1.1.1.

Waiting at the bus stop .... Isabel, here I come!
Geo: 40.4167, -3.70325

Up at 4 AM after three hours sleep. Khalid drove me to Victoria Station (what a guy!) to catch Gatwick train. Big thanks to him and his family. Getting nervous again ... still hasn't sunk in that I am finally returning to Toledo.

Chatted with an American student studying in Sussex for the summer. Wish I did things like that when I was younger. Ahhh .... to be young and idealistic again. Wait, I was never that way!

Sat next to a couple from Vancouver on the plane. They're spending three weeks in Spain and Portugal. Sat next to Carmen on the bus to Toledo. Got to practice my Spanish for an hour and get used to the local accent. She understood me, so I hope that it's a good sign.

Spanish version of Roxette's "Must've been love" was playing .... maybe it's a sign!!!!! Maybe I have a chance!!!!!

Sitting in Plaza Zocodover .... so many feelings I can't even think straight. Needed a few minutes to get my head straight. After 11 months, it's finally come full circle. By the way, the women are so unbelievably hot here. One gave me directions to the bus stop, but I didn't ask
2.2.2.

Plaza Zocodover - collecting my thoughts before going to find Isabel.
her if I could move the beds apart!!!

So I showed up at the hotel and she wasn't working. Bad sign. She will be there tomorrow. Ended up in the room next to the one I had last year. Only a single bed, not two pushed together, so I couldn't use my now famous line.

Grabbed a tuna pie (get your minds out of the gutter) and a Toledano (almond cookie) and off to sight-see. El Greco museum - mostly crap works compared to his other stuff. Disappointing.

Hotter than hell in Toledo, but still a great city. Wandered for awhile then a quick nap. Dinner was a quick calamari sandwich. Quite good, but the horchata (almond drink) was terrible.

Toledo is magical at night. Hung out at the Cathedral then wandered to Plaza Zocodover for some journal writing. Off to bed! Tomorrow is going to be a big day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

3.3.
3.

The computer I used to desperately email Patricia last year to get an email translated into Spanish.
4.4.
4.

Walking towards the hotel ....
5.5.
5.

Just a few metres away ....
6.6.
6.

First gelato of the trip! I dedicate this to you, Brad!
7.7.
7.

It starts again ... toes splitting open. You can actually see all the way to China!!!
8.8.
8.

Beautiful view from Toledo.
9.9.
9.

First cafe con leche of the trip. It's all for you John!


Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb