Day 29 - Short or Long?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 24th 2012
Published: October 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Route: Palas de Rei - Arzua

One of those days that you have to decide whether to take a short (18-20 km) walk or a longer one (28-30 km). No lodging in the middle. I left the decision to this morning depending how I was feeling. I felt great and decided to go the long alternative. I made no mistake, with exception of the last couple of kms, I felt great without major physical issues.

The issues today came from other sources, from above, rain. I just left the pension this morning or I had to seek refuge to put on my rain gear (poliners so no water runs into my shoes and an all covering poncho). Stopping until the sky clears is not an option on the Camino.

The initial 3 hours I walked with poncho. Although it did not rain continuously, it did sufficiently to keep the gear on. The poliners I kept on all day. The last couple of hours it rained again and this time hard with lightning, thunder and all.

Today I did almost 31 km in about 7.15 hours, which is more than I had bargained for.

The description of the hotel I am staying says that it is located in the outskirts of town (Arzua). I assumed that that was before the village, which turned out to be the wrong assumption. It made a difference of 3 km, or 45 min.

I have said this before, but Galicia is really beautiful and walking through it is very nice (as long it does not rain).

This morning I saw Sandra, the lady from Brazil. She was really depressed, but at least she had made it to her second stop.

In the case of some of the people that started their journey un Sarria, this day must have been truly difficult. Walking 28 kms is not a simple task when you have no experience. I will report tomorrow how some of them did.

Tomorrow a short day. I am now 38 km from Santiago. I plan a short trip (18 km) for tomorrow, which leaves another short one for Friday.

I have a quiz for all of you: I will publish a photo on the blog and I like to ask you what it is and what it is for. It is something almost all rural houses and farms have here in Galicia.

The first price for the right answer is a trip from St Jean to Santiago on foot with sleep accommodation in municipal albergues...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Old "Horreo"Old "Horreo"
Old "Horreo"

Watch the structure under the construction. No mouse or rat can come in, unless it manages to walk up side down.
Changing sceneryChanging scenery
Changing scenery

What a change from the Meseta de Castilla.
HonestyHonesty
Honesty

Very refreshing to see.


26th October 2012

foto inquiry
Es un outside bathroom?

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb