Day 21 - Three Weeks On The Road


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 16th 2012
Published: October 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Route: Astorga - Rabanal del Camino

3 weeks on the road, amazing.

Interesting to think, as a fellow traveler pointed out to me, that in the Camino there are no obligations. The only real commitment is getting on the road and walk, nothing more than that. I wonder how that will be once I am back in Venezuela.

Today a somewhat peculiar day. I have been suffering from a pain in a buttock, the right one for the people interested. I have had some assumptions on what it could be. The first one was shoes. The Hi Tech's I came with and that I changed yesterday, have lost all traction and my heels have been hurting like hell. The second thought was bad carrying of the backpack. Last night I noticed a large "morado" on my buttock and speaking to a canadian MD, I have traveled with before, I think a have pulled a muscle in my buttock. I did not know that was possible.

Today I traveled without backpack (sent it ahead by car, a service provided by a number of companies here) to see if that would help. In general it did, but I still have difficulties and pain. The pain is principally when I start walking and when I am making turns. After some 10 minutes the pain becomes bearable and after 5 more, disappears more or less, as long as I keep walking.

Tomorrow, again I will walk without backpack. The new shoes I bought in Astorga feel very good. Today, no problems at all. Nevertheless, just in case I still carry my old shoes with me. Tomorrow a steep climb (Cruz de Ferro) and an even steeper decent.


Checked in to a very nice hostal, had a great meal. Today I did just 20 km in about 4,55 hours but feel good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

CrossesCrosses
Crosses

Something new


Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb