A DAy on the Camino


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
May 3rd 2006
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Its been a while but what can I say. I was enjoying myself. Have just come over my 2nd range of mountains today and are now in a small village called Molinaseca. Tommorow I shall leave Leon province.

Thought I´d briefly describe my average day. Generally I get woken up by other pilgrims at about 6am recently they have usually been French but the nationality of the offender can be quite varied. Usually am out of bed with teeth cleaned and all watered up by 7.30am. I will then walk for about three hours before stopping for a morning black coffee and perhaps I tapas to eat. Then, lathered myself in sunscreen and with hat on I walk for another 3 hours before stopping for lunch on the side of the Camino. Lunch is always cheese, bread, olives and recently ham. I had been eating Chorizo sausage but have come to the conclusion that it is a revolting meat.
I arrive at the Albergue at about 3pm where I shower put my valuables ijn my little bag, maybe clean my clothes if its a sunny day and then head into town for a couple of glasses of
Leon Pilgrims HospitalLeon Pilgrims HospitalLeon Pilgrims Hospital

This was the old Pilgrims Hospice in Leon city. Its now a 5 star hotel and charging much more than 5 Euros a night we had got used to paying.
red wine or maybe a beer if I´m feeling thirsty. I´ve just walked over 30kms so I deserve it. I actually should have drunk more red wine in Rioja in hindsight. But I digress.
Dinner is usually a pilgrims menu which involves a salad of pasta course followed by a meat main course. Usually I get the local speciality which is often pork although soon it shall change to Seafood. Not to sure how I feel about that!? Dinner always comes with some wine. Of course. Finally I get to bed at 10 pm, latest time, and insert my earplugs at about 11pm. Such is life on the Camino. Buean Camino.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Hospital De Ortega and Jousting Ground.Hospital De Ortega and Jousting Ground.
Hospital De Ortega and Jousting Ground.

Each year in July a jousting tournament is held here to celebrate; DonSuero de Quinones. A knight who broke 300 lances in a tournament whilst wearing an iron collar after being rejected by his love. After breaking 300 he walked to Santiago and placed her jeweled bracelet around the neck of Santiago in the Cathedral. A bar sells good 30 cent glasses of wine just behind those houses to.
The end of the Meseta and the start of mountainsThe end of the Meseta and the start of mountains
The end of the Meseta and the start of mountains

After Astorga you climb up to Rabanal. Where there is a great British Albergue with a wonderful garden.


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb