Santiago Soon


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia
May 7th 2006
Published: May 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So now I am in Glacia and only a few short days from Santiago. I don´t really know how to feel about it all. It has only been a little over 3 weeks since I started but as I said before the Camino is strange and it feels like you live a life out here.

However, I do feel good about myslef, my situation and the future. Am quite looking forward to it all. Even if I don´t know what it will be. But I digress. I´m currently in Pontmarin in Glacia. Glacia is a really beautiful province with green rolling hills and pretty little hamlets smelling sweetly of cow manure (that part is not so pleasant). Crossed the border from Leon a couple of days ago and spent the night in a place called O Ceiebro which is perched on top of a mountain. The place is famed for its mist and the inability to see nothing from the top. We however were lucky anbd the views from the top were truelly stunning. Somewhat reminds me of Haputalae in the hill country in Sri Lanka (minus the tea of course). Last night I spent the night in a small
Last supper before SantiagoLast supper before SantiagoLast supper before Santiago

We didnt plan to get to Santiago that day but in the end we just arrived.
Albergue in a place called Calvor. The small places are always the better as you tend to meet and bond with the other pilgrims whilst in the bigger towns everyone seems to get lost. Perhaps thats just my feeling and my loive of smaller places. Pamplona being the exception on the Camino of course.

When I arrived in Calvor there was only me and Hulio or is it Julio pronounced with a "H". Julio spoke almost no English but told me that his younger brother was a keen student of English and this summer was going to Toronto to live for a month and last summer had also spent a month learning English in Iceland of all places and his daughter was an aero naughtical engineer.

Eventually three other arrived including my friends Lucho from Italy and Paula from Mallorca. It was good to meet them again as they are in a similar situation to me. No job kinda thing. It was very good to meet Paula as she was soon speaking to the elaborate Julio and informed me that his youngest son will soon be spending a month in Toronto learning English and had spent a month
Into GlaciaInto GlaciaInto Glacia

On crossing the border I heard bagpipes. I didnt know Glacia had Celtic roots. They have even made the place look a bit like Ireland.
last summer in Ireland also learning the language. Apparently Julio is an Aero naughtical engineer also. And he doesn´t have a daughter. Buen Camino.

Advertisement



10th May 2006

nice thoughts
Hi Ben, I've been following your journey vicariously from downtown Osaka--it sounds lovely and your thoughts on life and wine and walking are sensible and healing at the same time. where next and take care of yourself (and your right toe). xxderyn

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb