Lagrono too Najera


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
April 19th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Today was amazing. I just have to jot down a few thoughts before they go. I got up early and left Burgos. Being the biggest town in LA Rioja province it took a while to leave the place. After about 2 hours walk I arrived in the small town on Navarette. An old town which appears to have been built on a cliff, no surprise there since its Spain.

After a quick cafe solo and a pain de chocolate I set off for the biggest strech of the day a further 20kms to Najera. Absolutely incredible walk. You pass through vinyards of Rioja grapes whilst in the distance the mountains of the Sierra Desperado (I think!) rise out of the plains. The going was flat but the valley was huge and eventually I had to stop for lunch of Bread, Sausage cheese and olives along the side of shadded bank. Today the sun was high and although not fierce I tried to keep out of its way. Upon reaching the end of this huge gentle slopped valley we had to make our way to the top of a small hill. Making my way through pass the old trees on the other side I was greeted with the views of snow capped mountains.

Now I´ve just typed that out and its come nowhere near as close to saying how beautiful this place is. On top of it all you are with yourself, or other pilgrims if the fancy takes you, to just think and contemplate your thoughts that although sometimes bad always ends in good ones. Everyday here is different on the Camino and so far everyday is great. Off the a cheap glass of Rioja now. Trust the day has earnt it. Buen Camino.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 64; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb