In Castille


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
April 22nd 2006
Published: April 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

As always I have limited time for one Euro so let me refresh you briefly. Am currently in the little town of Belgorado. A nice place, made nicer by the fact that it was raining yesterday and most the pilgrims decided to drink too much red wine in the albergue (hostel). The Albergue manager was selling it for two euros a bottle so it would have been rude not to take advantage of the situation.

I last updated you in Nuerja, can´t remember the exact spelling of any of these places. I didn´t like that place at all. The albergue was in fact a giant portacabin and with over a hundred people staying it soon got really hot and stuffy. I eventually decided to leave early when it was dark. But on packing my bag I found it ti be 2 in the morning. Needless to say I returned top the stuffy portacabin. The next day was fantastic though. I got see the sun rise as I walked onto Santo Domingo.

However, on arriving at Santo Domingo I decided to press onto Grannon the nex small town. Found the 5 kms between the two really tough
Burgos KaraokeBurgos KaraokeBurgos Karaoke

I said I liked Karaoke so Ken took us all there. I then got the blame for "making" everyone sing Karaoke. You just can't win with these pilgrims
going, actually it was probably the toughest so far. But what a place. I couldn´t find the place but Marta (a Slovenian pilgrim) showed me the way. The place was amazing. I walked up stairs and was greeted with a "Hola you are just in time for lunch". Everything was free in the palce they only asked for a donation if you wanted to give it. The other pilgrims staying were also great I met Sam the stonemason for Bristol and that German pilgrim that seems to pop up at the strangest of places. I once asked him his name but have long since forgotten it. It doesnt matter really. We are all getting to know each other and when you arrive at an albergue and you bump into someone you haven´t seen for a couple of days it is all smiles and greetings followed by just a little wine of course.

Right have to go now as its a long walk to Arjes and tommorow we get to Burgos for a rest and a fairwell party for Gritt our longtime German companion who has to return to work in Berlin. Till later my darlings. Buen Camino.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb