Valls


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
March 3rd 2007
Published: March 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

Sorry about the gap in writing. So!!!!! We got on the train in Barcelona and took the train to Valls. We arrived just before 9 am. The ride there was so beautiful! We got picked up at the station by Vincent who then drove us 10 minutes or less to Pipirimosca farm. It´s very close to the city, we were both surprised. When we got there we met, Cooper, Vanessa and Alex. The farm is pretty neat. Composting toilet, bath house, big gardens ect. There are a few rooms so everyone gets a separate place to sleep. Vanessa left yesterday after being at the farm for 3 weeks. Cooper has been here 2 weeks. And Alex and Vincent less then a week. The farm belongs to Pere but he is in Barcelona until tomorrow so we have not had the chance to meet him yet.

We are getting use to Siestas (naps) after lunch and having a small dinner (since lunch is the big meal). We also, besides using the food grown from the gardens, dumpster dive for food. Yikes!! Was my first thought, but it´s been very humbling. We get our food from the local supermarket dumpster. All of the stuff is still good. It´s past itś due date so people throw it out. We do eat well though.

There is lots to do around the farm. There seems to be a lot of confusion about what needs to be done since Pere is not here. But if we see something that needs doing we do it. Yesterday I was cutting the grass/weeds ect around the orchard and cut my finger quite badly. Had to clean it up and everything. It seems ok. Just need to make sure it does not get infected. After I had bandaged it I helped with the Earth Ship. Itś very hard work. It´s where you take tires, fill them with dirt and pack them hard and then stack them. It´s a very good way to use something that will never decay and use them for building material. Derek made dinner yesterday it was a big hit. 😊

I am still very sick. My sore throat changed into a head cold, which now has manifested into a chest cold with a wicked cough. I feel like my throat is bruised from all of my coughing. I did not get up until 2:45 this afternoon. I tried to get up earlier but I felt like I had had the tar beaten out of me. But I took some medication and then felt a bit better.

So pretty much things are good here. Very laid back. Sort of do what you feel would be good to get done. Eat. Sleep. Laugh. Talk and make friends. Listen to music. Make music. I like it here, but I would like to find a farm next that has more structure and has someone that has duties planned out for the WWOOFers to do. I mean it´s nice but you feel sort of lost, like not knowing what to do next since there isn´t anyone to ask.

Anyways!!!!!!! Once I think of more to write about I´ll come back and update you guys! Thanks for all the love. Oh! and Derek said he would help out with the writing of this more but he´s a bit afraid he´d be too much of a perfectionist and the entries would take days to finish. So sorry, it´ll be mostly me writing. HAHA suckers!!

Love you guys... 😊

Dephka xoxoxox


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



4th March 2007

yay
I'm glad you guys made it safely - steph I'm giving your finger a big kiss to make it all better ... hope you're feeling better soon! Luv you both! xoxo
5th March 2007

hey!
hey guys! life sounds exciting! I talked to baba and deda last night via telephone.... deda hasn't quite mastered the computer and all powerful internet yet, so they wanted me to leave a note for you guys... they told me to tell you that they really enjoy reading the updates from you guys, and they are glad you are enjoying yourself and to keep the emails coming, and that they love you! my job here is done... love you, hope your cough gets better! nicole

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb