Valls... or not?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
March 1st 2007
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola all,

After I wrote you guys last night I had an eventful evening. Walked down to go and speak with Pere. Decided we would take the train today (the 1st) to Valls and be at the farm. On the way to the pay phone a young man (probably about 25ish) said "Hola, Como Estas?" (Hello, How are you?) I told him in Spanish that I was good and asked him how he was. He said he was also well and told me he was Salem. He then invited me to the bar we were walking by. I told him I needed to use the phone but thank you. After I spoke with Pere I went to the cash machine and ran into Salem at the cash machine. He then insisted that I go to the bar with him, I agreed since I was planning on going there anyways to see Derek. Went in and he ordered me a drink and I alerted Derek that I was there and I had a friend (hehehe). was from Moroco and plays the guitar. He said he did not like Barcelona so much but there were very beautiful beaches in Moroco. Derek came to sit with us after awhile. I felt bad because he was obviously trying to pick me up but because of the language issue I didn´t know how to let him down delicately. I laughed to Derek and asked "What are you going to do if every where we go beautiful men pick me up and buy me drinks?" "Sulk" he said with a sigh. I told him "No don´t sulk! Be proud, stick out your chest! You know why? Because I´m yours!! And I´m only going home with you!" Anyways. Finally we left. Sorry buddy!!

So today we went to Temple Sagrada Familia. It was beautiful! Derek and I took lots of pictures so we´ll post them ASAP! All the amazing sculptures and such. Man Goude was a total genius. All of the arcitecture in relations to nature. It was really cool. Then we took the Metro to Park Guell. Wow. That´s my new favorite place. I told Derek that when we come back to Barcelona for his birthday that I´m going to get him a nice cake and then we´ll eat it up there! We´ve got pictures of that too!

Now for the real good part!
Alrighty! So our train for Valls was schedualed to leave at 6:45, we got to the station on time. Got our tickets and everything. We asked the guy we bought our tickets from which train to take he told us the Lleida train. That was leaving at 6:45 on platform 2. We got on it just like he told us. We travelled for a bit. But had a funny feeling. We checked the map and sure enough we were going the wrong way!! CRAP!! We checked again. And another time. Cursed a bit. And felt... well... lost. Decided we had to get off the train and then go back to Barcelona. It was terrible since people from the farm where suppose to be waiting for us at the station. We got off the train in a tiny village. Derek asked an older gentleman if this train was going to Valls. He did not speak English and we could not explain in Spainish. He did understand us enough to tell us we had to go back to Barcelona. So, in the dark (although the platform was lit) we sat. Derek ran for a pay phone to call our farm to tell them we´d gotten on the wrong train. But alas, no phones were available. While he was gone the nice older gentleman came back to check on us. He asked everyone that was there if they could speak English so he could help us out. But no one knew English. He did make sure, however, that the next train was going to Barcelona. I asked a girl to use her cellphone after Derek got back and I called the farm and told them what had happened and we got a new date for picking us up. So now, here we are. Back at the hostel. Tired!

Our train leaves tomorrow at 7:06 am!! So I better get to bed!

Love you guys!!

Dephka


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



3rd March 2007

hello my darlings
OMG I miss you guys so much. I got your postcard and I was so freakin' happy to see it! It took me forever to understand how this blog worked lol But I finally figured it out and I'm so happy you two are safe and having fun! I saw your pic, Steph and wanted to cry :( cuz I miss you so much. I have a surprise for you when you get back. Everyone at work misses both of you and we can't wait to see you again. I can't wait to help build your house. hee hee So I really hope that you both are having the times of your lives ... you deserve it. My love is stretching to both of you and hugging you tight. Look at the moon and think of me! Have a great day or night - depending on when you read this! ;) I love you! xoxo
27th March 2007

hey baby girl! man.. the language barrior. its a hard one! I remember when i 1st got to paraguay, i wanted to cry cause it was so hard. buttttt.... afer about 3 weeks, i was doing really well!! So it will come,if you can, take a class or two. They helped me alot. I miss you, and it is so refreshing to see another one of my friends out and travelling, its the best feeling isnt it. I miss it.... 6 months of pure independance, now im back home. haha :P keep on having an amazing time baby. and good work on pickin up the guys.. haha! ( im kidding derek! haha) xoxoxo LOV YOU forever Carm

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb