Denia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community
July 10th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

La Bella VitaLa Bella VitaLa Bella Vita

Welcome to the good life...
This past weekend was another adventure! The fam and I drove for four hours on Thursday night to a Mediterranean town called Denia, near Valencia. The drive alone was beautiful, especially at night, seeing Valencia all lit up and tucked away in mountains.

We arrived at The Marriot which is a vvvvery nice five-star hotel. Rafa and family and friends have an annual golf tournament, so I met about eight other families upon our arrival! "My" family is ALWAYS with other people so there's never a dull moment. I was pleasantly surprised to meet a girl my age, named Yasmin, who was an au pair as well! She had just begun and looked a little nervous and frazzled with her kids, sitting in the hotel restaurant. I thought back to my first few days here and wished her luck. Then Little Maria, her little cousin Cecilia and I went up to our room. I ordered Maria and I room service for dinner. A very classy meal of chicken fingers and fries. They were delicious. Then I put the little munchkins to bed.

The next day we headed to the Beach! And not just ANY beach, the MEDITERRANEAN SEA! I
The MediterraneanThe MediterraneanThe Mediterranean

Here's Little M and I at the Med Sea!
was SO excited to see it. Little Maria laughed at me when I was looking out the window in AWE at the vast sea. To her, this was just "old hat," but to me, this was another adventure. Anyway, the sea did NOT disappoint and we all had an amazing day. The water was warm unlike my memory of other seas I have swam in. Besides a slight sunburn, it was a perfect day.

Anyway, that night I brought Maria to "Kids Club" and who should I see but Yasmin, the other Au Pair. So we both dropped "our" children off and then walked around outside. We began gossiping and venting and comparing stories about our children and families. It felt good to finally talk to someone else who was in my situation. We could really relate to each other. It also helped that she was from Scotland so her english was perfect. The only difference was she called diapers "nappies!" haha. I made fun of her for that.

Anyway, Saturday and Sunday were basically the same thing as Friday: Relaxing, tanning, drinking, eating, swimming and just enjoying the amazing Espana weather! Rafa and his team won the
Cheers to Spain!Cheers to Spain!Cheers to Spain!

People: Big Maria's brother, myself, Rafa Drinks: Gin and Tonic Feelings: Happy and relaxed (and slightly burned!)
golf tourny, so they got to keep the trophy for the year. Of course that meant a huge feast and celebration on Saturday night, which gave Yasmin and I more time to gossip at the hotel while the kids were in their club. Now I realize why all mom's seem to sit around and talk about their children...there's just so much to talk about! haha.

Overall, it was another amazing weekend here in Spain. Its hard to believe my trip here is more than half over!! Where does the time go?


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

View from hotel windowView from hotel window
View from hotel window

When we arrived I took this picture out the window...
Room ServiceRoom Service
Room Service

Little Maria and I had room service every night. Loves it!


17th July 2008

A Perfect Summer...
Hi Yenny, I've been reading your blog, and must say it sounds like you're having the time of your life! Sharing your adventures with us gives us a glimpse of life in Spain (for the rich and famous)! We missed you at Chesley, but we just can't compete with the Mediterranean...see you in Sept. Mrs. DJ.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb