Valencia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
March 19th 2006
Published: March 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Somehow I woke up at 7:30 to shower and meet at 8:45. I thought I was gonna be mad late, so I ran. Imagine me running down the street with a huge bag. I was breathing mad hard when I got there and only Kate and Claribel were there. It’s a good thing that they had come earlier and found out where the bus station was because Carla didn’t show up until ten til. The worst thing is that Monica had Carla’s ticket and she was mad late. We couldn’t even reach her cuz she was in the metro. Kate, Claribel and I went to the bus and told the bus driver that two more were coming. Somehow they mad it in time and caught the bus. It would have sucked if they had of missed it.

I know, you’re surprised. I slept whole way there! I get my best sleep on public transportation! Everyone was mad because the bus driver put on a war movie that was mad loud and I was the only one able to sleep through it. I promise, I just closed my eyes to listen to the Spanish better and before I knew it I was out. That lack of sleep will catch up with you before you know it!

We got to Valencia around 2. I had to pee so bad! Too bad they were ¨cleaning¨ the ladies room when we got there, so we had to walk down the street and find a potty. I wanted to use to bathroom where you pay to get in, but I didn’t know how long the door was going to stay closed, so I decided to save that adventure for later.

We walked around and finally found what we were looking for: fallas! Every street we turned down there was a new one. We would have had to come yesterday if we wanted to see them all. They were remarkable! I don’t know how people make these amazing things out of just paper mache and foam and stuff. Some how we stumbled across a little pre-show of what the fallas were going to be like. I never heard noise so loud! My ears were hurtin real bad after. One of the ladies who lived there told us not to push on our ears, but to cup them and open our mouth. I felt stupid doing it, but I figured since she lived there and had done it before, she would know better than me.

We continued walked and randomly found the Museo de Bellas Artes. It was pretty cool but they kept yelling at us to be quiet. I wasn’t feelin that. We saw more fallas and then sat on steps to eat a snack and figure out what we wanted to do next. Some little boy was throwing the little firecracker things on the ground and one of them didn’t pop. When Carla was throwing away her food she moved it in the path to try and get someone to step on it. They all failed us!

We decided to do a little more sightseeing and then make our way to the beach. We were on our way to buy scarves when we saw this little girl pull down her pants right in front of everyone. She obviously had to go to the bathroom, but this was a main street and there were places to pee everywhere. That’s so common here though. Little kids pee on the street all the time. We were just in shock. They have no shame!

We couldn’t resist. We passed a candy shop and then we saw everyone eating ice cream, so we had to get some. It was the best ice cream I ever had. It wasn’t gelato but it wasn’t ice cream. I was in heaven. Yesterday they had the flower parade, and we came across the display. It was gorgeous. I had been upset earlier because I was not impressed with Valencia. I thought it was so ugly! We had finally reached the beautiful part of Valencia. I fell in love! We couldn’t go inside everything, but I was happy just to see it. We went into the ceramic museum and I was surprised. I thought it was gonna be mad boring. It was amazing. I need to stop trying to judge everything because I’m always surprised.

We never made it to the beach. We kept finding fallas we wanted to see and take pictures of, and then we got hungry. Monica had told her friends we would meet them at nine, but we were ready to eat at nine. We started walking closer and closer to the meeting place even though it was in the opposite direction and everyone was getting mad. You don’t get in the way of us and our food! Then they didn’t even text her back, so we ended going to dinner anyway! We went to this Italian place and it was delicious. We were full, but not stuffed. I guess that’s a good thing I just love food! I’ve recently become even greedier. I thought it was impossible, but apparently not!

After dinner we walked around and looked at more fallas and decided which one we wanted to see burn. We didn’t get great seats or anything, but it was awesome. I can’t even describe it. I loved it. We were going to try and be nice to the people behind us, but everyone in front of us was standing, and we decided since this was our first and last falla, we were gonna see it! So we stood too. We actually saw two different things burn; a hug falla and a baby one. The baby one was a little better because we got to be really close. Then we went to have some tea and coffee and Monica´s friends finally called her. We were on a mission to find them.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb