Toledo


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
March 18th 2006
Published: March 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first little day trip. I went to Toledo with Monica and Carla. We were supposed to meet at 10, but Carla and I were a touch late. Good thing the bus leaves every half-hour and we didn’t already have tickets. Poor Monica was freaking out because she thought we had left her! Hehehe.

We had all gone out the night before and slept the whole way to Toledo. I say “the whole way” like it was that far. It was only an hour, but that was a good hour of rest! So we got there and we had no idea where to go. I saw this giant hill in front of me and guessed that’s where we wanted to be. So we made our way toward the hill. We got stopped by a little shop. We stopped to buy postcards. The old man working there seemed cool at first, but he turned out to be creepy. Before we left he asked Monica if she had a boyfriend and said something ridiculous that I couldn’t understand. Weirdo!

So we tried to make our way up the hill again. These guys rode by and stopped next to us. We decided to ask them if we were going the right way. They were so strange! The guy driving was literally leaning out of the passenger side of the car. He kept winking at us and telling us that his friends were gay. He even tried to kick his friends out of the car so there would be enough seats for us to have him take us to the top of the hill. We had to peace out because he obviously wasn’t driving away anytime soon.

So we continued our journey. When I saw hill, I’m not joking. That junk was steep! We are lazy, so instead of taking the winding streets to the top, we took the shortcut: the dirt path. I was breathing mad hard when I reached the top and my calves were burning! But we made it. Take that hill!

We made it to the starting point. Monica had a little map in her book, so we decided to go see Alcazar first. We walked around forever. We finally asked a tour guide bus driver where we were. We had been standing in front of it the whole time! It is closed and under construction. No wonder we couldn’t find it! So that was a disappointment. Then we went to a Museo de Santa Cruz and met some other Americans. It was really interesting because everything in it was religious and Monica taught me about Veronica who I didn’t even know was in the Bible.

After the first Museum we went on a search for food. Monica’s senora didn’t pack her a lunch so we went looking for bocadillos. We found this really small shop hidden in the corner. That food was amazing! I just got juice and some candy but I tried Monica’s boca and Carla’s empanada and just about died. Delicious! We ate lunch in Plaza de Zocodover and then we were on our way.

The Cathedral was our next stop. It’s like once you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all, but you can’t skip going to the Cathedral no matter what city you are in. Of course it was gorgeous. We missed having our own personal tour guide so we decided to join another group. After like three things the guide told us that it was a private tour and that we couldn’t be part of it! People join our tours all the time. I was a little upset, but not as upset as Monica. She was hot! Her and Carla went back and joined the group and I just went on my own. I came back and they had gone crazy. They were speaking a made up language and “giving each other information” I just about died laughing.

It started to drizzle after we left the cathedral so we attempted to do a little souvenir shopping. We forgot we still had to buy our ticket home and buy tickets for whatever else we wanted to see. Whoops. We had to save that money.

We asked the shop owner which Synagogue to go to and I think he got a little confused because we were not impressed! We went to The Sinagoga del transito and it was not cute! It was more of a museum, except not a cute one. We were not impressed and left real quick.
We went to go see the Casa-Museo de El Greco. He is a dark painter. We decided we didn’t enjoy his stuff too much, but it was interesting to see a little of. We only had one stop left on our list. We wanted to go see the windmills from Don Quixote. We asked the bartender where they were and he told us they were in the country, which is a little less than 2 hours away. That’s further than Madrid! So needless to say we didn’t make it to see the windmills.
On our way back to the bus, we saw a whole bunch of people looking real cute. We had just missed a wedding! We went into the church and saw the bride. She was adorable! And what a pretty church.

We didn’t know how to get back to the bus, but the huge signs pointing in either direction are always a good thing. We made our way back to the station and barely caught the bus. It was funny because we ended up with the exact same seats going back as we had going. And you guessed it, I was out!

I thought I was going to come home, eat dinner, and then go to bed. Christina had a little surprise. She tricked us into working out with her! Hahaha. I guess I needed it. We did a mix of like Taebo and dance and aerobics. It felt good. That’s the first time I worked up a sweat since I’ve been here besides dancing at the club. I hope I’m sore tomorrow!
It was a party at Concha’s because her niece and nephew, Marissa and Oscar were here with their kid Pablo and Carmen and we all ate together. Usually I eat a lot, but once I found hair in my food, I couldn’t eat anymore. Yes, I’m starving right now, but I’m gonna have to suck it up because my appetite is gone. That’s my cue for bed. I am falling asleep writing this anyway. Plus there’s no more to say. I gotta rest up for tomorrow. It’s gonna be a long day. Night


Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb