Fallas


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
March 23rd 2009
Published: March 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Torres de SerranoTorres de SerranoTorres de Serrano

Jacob and I on top of Valencia, almost. The cathedral is higher.
March in Valencia is CRAZY and it flew by.

Everyday at 2:00p.m. starting on March 1st we went to Mascleta in la Plaza de Ayuntamiento. During Mascleta a different organization each day competes for the loudest fireworks. Bombs is a more appropriate word for fireworks in this sense though, sometimes it is pretty but I didn't go to watch; I went to feel the ground tremble. I miss going to Mascleta everyday.

The weekend before Fallas actually began Jacob came to visit! I'm excited he got to experience Mascleta because it really cannot be described, only felt. We walked all over Valencia in 2 days. I always enjoy seeing my best friend; we'll be re-united again in April 😊

The day Jacob left Alex arrived. They overlapped in the airport!

Fallas is insane. I still couldn't even really tell you what it is. Alex said the welcoming of Spring. Our typical day during Fallas looked like this...

non-stop fireworks
2:00-2:05p.m Mascleta (if you woke up in time)
lunch, relax, walk around the city
9:00 dinner
11:00 begin to party
1:30a.m Castillos (the most amazing fireworks show you will ever see)
2:00a.m. dodge fireworks on the streets,
MascletaMascletaMascleta

In the middle of Mascleta madness. We're wearing the traditional Fallas handkerchiefs.
continue to party
6:00a.m. go to bed (if you're lucky)
non-stop fireworks

on the last night they burn everything (everything being all of the sculptures)

It was a cultural experience I wouldn't want to miss, but I'm so relieved it's over and quiet again.

Mascleta and Castillos were my two favorite parts of Fallas.

Fallas ended late Thursday night so Alex and I had the weekend to spend together while Valencia returned back to normal. It was good to see some his favorite things about Valencia and meet his host family y ahora somos novios 😊



Maybe pictures will explain Fallas better than I can with words.

Next stop: Naples, Italy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Calle de correusCalle de correus
Calle de correus

My street of choice to watch Mascleta. Completamente lleno de gente.
ayuntamientoayuntamiento
ayuntamiento

This Falla was inspired by Bioparc, a safari/zoo adventure on the outskirts of Valencia, I think. This was burned on Thursday night.
lightslights
lights

Almost every street has lights hanging. This street had an exceptionally awesome display. Thank you to Alex for taking me :)
MestallaMestalla
Mestalla

Alex's favorite spot in Valencia.


23rd March 2009

Those hankerchiefs
Those are actually called PaƱuelos, and of course Mestalla is the best part of Valencia!! I'm glad you had a good time, I had an amazing time!! Thanks for putting up with me for so long. Keep the blogs coming everyone loves hearing about your adventures!!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb