Me holiday in Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 11th 2009
Published: March 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

hard rockhard rockhard rock

re-united at Hardrock!
Jacob and I were finally reunited last weekend in the wonderful country of Ireland! It felt so good to see a familiar face. We had an amazing time and it was like we had never been apart. I'll just touch on our favorite things...

1. The shopping
I would have never guessed that Ireland would have the best shopping I've seen yet in Europe. They had all the big chains but also stores I had never seen before. I didn't buy a lot because the stores unique to Dublin were too expensive. I did find some sandals for only 6E; I got three colors.

2. The Guinness Factory
Originally I didn't have a huge desire to go the factory because I thought it was going to be really touristy but it was awesome; I would recommend it to anyone. We did a self guided tour of the SEVEN story museum and tasted our first Guinness beer. It was delicious. At the end of the tour you reach the seventh floor and there is a bar with an amazing view of the city.

3. Gogarty's
Gogarty's is a traditional, Irish pub with the best live music in Temple Bar. The best way I can describe Temple Bar is with the analogy: Temple Bar is to Dublin as Aggieville is to Manhattan. I went on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night. We couldn't stay away and of course ordered Guinness on Saturday night after we fell in love with it, so much so that we bought Gogarty's T-shirts!

4. Food
On Friday night we went to Hard Rock Cafe and ordered all American; chicken, mac&cheese, and margaritas. We bought T-shirts here as well 😊


Dublin is an expensive city. A Heineken bottle costs 6E, a Guinness 10E. Luckily Gogarty's had free entry and we made one pint of Guinness last the whole night. Both of the hostels I stayed in were really nice; I was impressed.

Secondly, Dublin is a rainy, cold city. It made returning to Valencia feel so good. The weather is finally starting to stay nice here. It was good to have a break from speaking Spanish for the weekend. I returned eager to get to use my Spanish again.

I'm really happy I left for the weekend. I didn't realize how much I love Valencia until I was away from it for
Guinness FactoryGuinness FactoryGuinness Factory

taste test #1
a few days. It's going to make me appreciate my time here so much more.

I get to see Jacob again this weekend, and Alex as well! Time is flying by.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Gogarty'sGogarty's
Gogarty's

Guinness at Gogarty's on Saturday night.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb