daily life


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
February 23rd 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nothing too big has happened since I last updated but I forget that my "daily life" isn't normal for all of you reading this so I'll just tell you a little bit about what I do and what has been happening.

Valentine's Day weekend the Medieval Market was held in Valencia. It was in the Plaza de Toros (a bull fighting stadium). There were tons of vendors. Thank goodness I had just eaten lunch before I went because they had some of the most delicious looking food and snacks I had ever seen; I didn't try any of it! There was also a lot of different clothing and jewelry vendors; mostly all handcrafted. It was very cool. I bought some presents there 😉

On Friday night I went to a botellon and my first disco in Spain. A botellon is when a bunch of Spaniards stand in the street and drink. It's pre-gaming basically. It's not customary to hang out in your apartment in Spain or have guests over, so you meet in the street. I'll have more fun with it when it finally warms up but when in Spain I do as the Spaniards do! We had free entry to a club called Mirror; it was cool. We danced until the wee hours of the morning.

Saturday night we dressed up and partied for Carnaval. It's a Catholic thing that I don't know a lot about and not a ton of people in Valencia dressed up for. But, we got free entry to another club if we were wearing a costume, so we did!

Last night was the kick-off eveny for Fallas at Los torres de Serrano. I didn't have my camera with me, and I can't make that mistake again. The bridge in front of los torres was full of people (I was standing in the very middle); the soccer field below us was full of fireworks. Valencia out did any Fourth of July show I had ever seen in under 5 minutes. I've never been closer to fireworks before in my life and the ground shook beneath my feet. My friend and I were holding each other tight! March isn't even here yet and the party is already starting.

And speaking of March, I can't wait! Jacob and I go to Ireland the weekend after next, then he comes to visit me in
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

inside the market
Valencia and then Alex will be here for a whole week!

Today at lunch Spanish newscasters were reporting the Oscars. It's always interesting to see how things happening in the states are viewed from this perspective. All of their focus was on Penelope Cruz's award for best actress in Vicky Christina Barcelona. I actually watched that movie on the plane ride over here; it was very good. It didn't even dawn on me that the Oscars would be on, I'm bummed I missed them! I'll have to Google what everyone was wearing and who won what.

That brings me to my next point. One of my favorite things to do is go to itunes Top 100 recently downloaded list to listen to all the new music from home. Spain is about 1 month behind in getting the movies from home and even later with the music. It's weird to us because the songs they think are so new and cool here are old to us. So, as I write this post, I'm listening to new American music 😊.

I find something new every time I got out in Valencia and I'm learning how to walk everywhere by
BotellonBotellonBotellon

my friend Megan and I at the Botellon; probably freezing!
foot. I have to have it figured out before Fallas!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

CarnavalCarnaval
Carnaval

Chrissy was Robin Hood and Ronnie was a cowgirl. I went all out and bought a mask.
Torres de SerranoTorres de Serrano
Torres de Serrano

I have no idea why I have yet to take a picture of los torres.. but that bridge through there was where was standing and the fireworks went off just to the right.


24th February 2009

Your "daily life"
Well, you're right about that, your experiences are anything but usual for us. Sounds like Valencia is a very friendly city that encourages getting out and meeting your neighbors....love that!! Enjoy Ireland, and remember your camera!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb