Valencia - More than just oranges


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
November 7th 2008
Published: November 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Streets lined with orange treesStreets lined with orange treesStreets lined with orange trees

I did say that Valencia was more than just oranges however its hard to avoid the orange trees. It just makes a whole lot of sense. Councils are forever planting trees so why not fruit trees?
It is Friday morning and an early start as I check out of the Hotel Petit Palace Italia bound for the coastal city of Valencia about 350km south of Barcelona and the same distance west of Madrid. With its idyllic coastal location, Valencia enjoys a Mediterranean climate, warm dry summers, mild winters, and beautiful beaches.

Having arrived in Madrid in my overcoat it would be a relief to pack it away at least for the next few days as I wind up the Spanish leg of the trip first in Valencia and then Barcelona.

The train journey took three and a half hours and the service on board the RENFE train was excellent - breakfast, newspapers and movies provided to those of us lucky enough to travel in clase preferente.

On arrival I immediately noticed the difference in pace of Valencia in comparison to that of Madrid. Valencia is definetly less hectic, it’s a city where cars actually stop for pedestrians to allow them to cross the road.

Valencia is famous for a number of things - it is the home of paella and of course the home of the Valencia orange. Just like in
More oranges!More oranges!More oranges!

A small park adjacent to the Plaza de la Virgen
Seville the streets are lined with orange trees. They are an important part of the economy in Valencia.

After being mislead by Google (never trust it) and driven to the wrong hotel by my cab driver it was on to the Petit Palace Bristol, in the centre of the old part of Valencia.

It was lunch time so I was getting quite hungry. The lady at reception gave me directions to a very traditional restaurant for lunch - I immediately headed off, forgetting watch she said and stumbled upon a restaurant called The Sardineria - a great little fish restaurant. I love sardines (and I’m still thinking about those great sardines on toast with the egg in London) so I ordered some a la plancha and a serving of salt cod croquetas.

With my appetite satisfied for now, I wandered around the old part of town and then back to the hotel for a siesta. After my siesta I did some more walking and found my way to the Cathedral of Valencia. I took a few photos, stopped for a café con leche and then slowly returned back to my hotel confident in the fact that
Plaza de la VirgenPlaza de la VirgenPlaza de la Virgen

Plaza de la Virgen is the picturesque emblem of the Old Town: the Basilica de la Virgen, the back portal of the Cathedral and the monumentall Palau de Generalitat
next time I go out I will find my way to that restaurant…hmm if only I remembered its name, let alone the directions!

Tomorrow I am going to see The City of Arts and Sciences - in stark contrast to the historical centre of town, this modern wonder is apparently an incredible experience. I might even pop into the Plaza del Mercardo one of the oldest fresh food markets in Europe, with over eight centuries of history.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Plaza de la VirgenPlaza de la Virgen
Plaza de la Virgen

The fountain in front of the Plaza de la Virgen.
Plaza de la virgenPlaza de la virgen
Plaza de la virgen

Nice and quiet here with the most of the activity is by the pigeons. There are a number of bars with outdoor tables where the locals and tourists can relax whilst listening to the sound of the fountain and the ruffling of pigeon feathers
Dusk in Plaza de la ReinaDusk in Plaza de la Reina
Dusk in Plaza de la Reina

The sun was going down as I left the Plaza de la Reina
The Plaza de la ReinaThe Plaza de la Reina
The Plaza de la Reina

The Cathedral with its very impressive octagonal bell-tower El Micalet is the landmark of Valencia.
Hotel Petit Palace BristolHotel Petit Palace Bristol
Hotel Petit Palace Bristol

In what seems to be the quietest street in Valencia. Wireless access in every room and bicycles for every guest!
The streets of ValenciaThe streets of Valencia
The streets of Valencia

I love the quiet streets of Valencia
The Cathedral The Cathedral
The Cathedral

This is the religious centre of Valencia and the home to the Holy Grail. It is a spectacular hybrid of styles, from Gothic to Baroque and Neo-Classical,


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb