Nesting!!! Among Other Things


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
August 26th 2018
Published: August 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Our LivingroomOur LivingroomOur Livingroom

More pictures to follow. Moving to this place has been an story in itself. The window overlooks a school and playground. Paved of course.
Aug 20th to the 31st: Since last weekend, we have been nesting. We are buying some of the things that we sold like coffee pots, trash cans, patio furniture, etc. We are a little smarter this time in that we know we will give this stuff away when we return to the U.S., so we are buying cheap, cheap, cheap. But still, all the stuff adds up. Each day we move a little more stuff to our apartment. We have a week left at the AirB&B, so we are making the most of washing clothes, and internet, which we don't have yet at our apartment. Tomorrow, we contract for internet and Kathy's phone, we get our debit cards from the bank, and we buy a couple of chairs for our patio area. It seems that we are constantly busy doing something.

Speaking of cheap...yesterday (Sat 8/25) we went to IKEA...oh boy!!! Our new landlord purchased a table for us which arrived one day last week. I told our realtor that I would put it together. After 5 mins, I called the realtor and told him that I wouldn't touch this thing with a ten foot pole. What a mess. Nothing
Fountain Somewhere in ValenciaFountain Somewhere in ValenciaFountain Somewhere in Valencia

This fountain is somewhere in Valencia but I have no idea where. We have been all over the city so I tend to lose track of the pictures. I thought it looked nice anyway.
fit. Sooo...he sent a "handyman" over to put it together. After 3 hours, the handyman called the realtor and told him a bunch of stuff. All I could catch out of the conversation was "muy mal." No truer words have ever been spoken. Anyway, we told our landlord that we would go to IKEA and pick out a table and chairs. Needless to say, we bought a bunch of other stuff too. So there we were walking out of IKEA with muchas bolsas and it dawned on me...I hope they let us on the bus with all this stuff. So we get to the bus stop and everyone has IKEA bags by the hand full. I was so relieved. Kathy say, "I told ya so!!!" I should never doubt her....except when it comes to directions. Kathy would get lost in a room if it didn't have corners.

So we took the bus home....almost. Now I say that with some tripidation because the closest we could get home or to the AirB&B was about a mile and a half in opposite directions. So I voted to go to the AirB&B and return tomorrow for a refreshing stroll to our apartment
Apartment RowApartment RowApartment Row

This street is like many others in Valencia in that it is lined with apartment buildings that mostly have shops on the street level and apartments above.
with our stuff. But as it happens, Kathy wants to go to the apartment and drop off our new "treasures." Now remember, we have spent the entire day at IKEA shopping. We even had lunch there. So we have had a full day already. Without saying anything else, we walked to our apartment, unpacked our "treasures" and then headed home.. Now if you do the math that is 1 1/2 miles to our apartment, 1 1/2 miles back to where we are, and 1 1/2 miles to our AirB&B for a grand total of 4 and a half MORE miles. Now I have hiked the Grand Canyon 5 times, (I must say there are those who claim they have hiked the GC...well you know who you are...MELINDA) I have hiked 20 miles in one day with a 4000 ft accent and decent, and I have hiked many miles above 12,000 ft but one trip to IKEA kicked my butt. I was all for sleeping in on Sunday but Kathy wanted to go to church....4 miles away. We went, but I'm here to tell you I am done. I am going on Spanish disability next week. I hear it's pretty good.
More ApartmentsMore ApartmentsMore Apartments

I really like the palm trees.
I understand that I can get a discount on the bus rides too. Yeehaw!!!

So here we are in the final days of our AirB&B and we have moved all but the final load to our apartment. Tomorrow (Friday), we pack everything we have left in the AirB&B and move it to our new place. All we lack is the internet. For some reason Vodafone can't approve our paperwork. I'm thinking it was that 12 yrs I spent in Angola prison in the 70s...wait!!!...I didn't say that out loud did I. It amazes me that I can pass an FBI background check, get a health certificate, pass the financials and move to another country but for some reason we can't get internet. Can anyone out there explain that to me. Anyway, hopefully we might have it by Monday or Tuesday. Wait a minute. Kathy is the one on the contract. Maybe this is a warning. I should look into that.

That would explain a lot of strange occurences lately. For example, yesterday we were scheduled to register with the police. That's right. We have registered with the tax people, the census people, the utility people, and that guy
Street CelebrationStreet CelebrationStreet Celebration

For some reason, they closed the streets in the Placa de L'Ajuntament and everyone was milling around, walking their dogs and just generally having a good time. This area is call the Placa de L'Ajuntament and represents the central government area of Valencia. We have been here many times.
on 42nd street behind a cardboard box holding a cup. Now we have to register with the police (I was really worried about that Angola thing). Anyway, we hired someone to go us to ferret out all the lingo and this woman did a hell of a job. I was even afraid of her. So Kathy and I are registering at the same time with 2 different people. I need to give you a little background here. We filled out all our paperwork at the same time, it was all dated the same day. When we got our visas, they started and ended on the same day which was Aug 17th. Do you see the problem here. We arrived on Aug 1st and we have 30 days to register with the police from the date of our arrival. We register with the police on the 29th. I breeze through the interview mostly because of my good looks but Kathy gets the Gastapo lady from hell. "IT SEEMS TAT YOR PAPERS ARE NOT IN OAWDER!!!" A hush falls on the room. This is when hiring good help pays off. Our interpreter jumped right in. I wish I had a recording of
The Seat of Government in ValenciaThe Seat of Government in ValenciaThe Seat of Government in Valencia

They close the streets in the Placa de L'Ajuntament and look what happens. Without the government operating, people just mill around with no direction and actually look happy. Very nice area with the main post office, office of tourism, lots of shops' restaurants, and places to buy beer.
all the Spanish that was flying. We walked out with our registration. Wow what a show.

So yesterday we became official residences of Valencia Spain. It has been an interesting experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Placa de L'Ajuntament ValenciaPlaca de L'Ajuntament Valencia
Placa de L'Ajuntament Valencia

The square was redesign in 1930's with much controversy regarding the design of the plaza and surrounding buildings both from a historical and architectural perspective. As you can see, the building architecture is very ornate. This area also lies between our apartment and our AirB&B. We travel thru this area almost everyday.


31st August 2018

Nest Away
What, no picture of my room? Nest away. ;-}
31st August 2018

Your Room
We don't want to scare you away. Believe me, we have a room for YOU!!!
1st September 2018

Super Blog
I'm living vicariously through your adventures. Love the blog!
2nd September 2018

Apartment
Send more pics when you can. Mike says we can't get there next year to hike. We have to finish AT and we'll be there in 2020. Glad everything is good with you guys.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb