Alicante


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

DSCN2115DSCN2115DSCN2115

La plaza de los luceros. Where we met up with our families our first day here.

A beautiful city!!



Alicante is one of the prettiest cities i've ever seen. It is fairly large, around 300,00, but feels small because the center is so compact. It feels very beachy with light colored buildings, palm trees and the hot sun. It is very clean and feels less metropolitan than Madrid. The lifestyle here is very relaxed and I love it! My house is located in central downtown with the main shopping center a few streets away and the beach a ten minute walk. The beach is unbeleivable. It is a bit crowded at times because Alicante is a tourist destination but it is absolutely gorgeous. You can see the mountains in the background and the water is so clear and blue. I have gone everyday i have been here. I'm being careful not to get burnt

One of my first nights here our group took a walking tour of the city led by a girl who went on this trip through USAC years ago and ended up staying. It was good to get the feel of the city. I feel like finally i know my way around somewhat. There are tons of good restaurants and bars and
DSCN2116DSCN2116DSCN2116

a top secret government building
the ice cream here is amazing...its so smooth. There are tons of cute clothing and shoe stores. I'm going to have to practice some self control in the shopping area.

Right along the beach there is a huge walkway called the explanada. A lot of people go here at night and there are street vendors and certain nights of the week there are bands that play. There is a big night life here which is why it is a bit loud at night. I have also had to get used to using public transportation. Living in a big city is so new to me and riding a bus is something i've never done. It was a little scary at first but we found out where to get on and off each day going to our university. We bought our bonobus (bus pass) which will give us 30 rides. The school is only three miles away but it takes about 25 minutes to get there with all the stops.

Also on our walking tour we went into a neighborhood called Santa Cruz. This is one of the cutest neighborhoods i've ever seen. The doors are bright colors, all white
DSCN2117DSCN2117DSCN2117

a cool lookin statue thing
houses and flowers every where. You climb a bunch of steps and at the top is the best view of the city. It was gorgeous!! It gets very hot here during the day. It doesn't rain too often and the sun is always out. I am getting used to sweating a lot.

I'm sure I will be exploring the city a lot during my stay. I think it is a wonderful city to live in!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

DSCN2124DSCN2124
DSCN2124

the hippie stores in the explanada
DSCN2128DSCN2128
DSCN2128

La Explanada
DSCN2135DSCN2135
DSCN2135

Santa Cruz
DSCN2136DSCN2136
DSCN2136

Santa Cruz
DSCN2138DSCN2138
DSCN2138

Santa Cruz
DSCN2142DSCN2142
DSCN2142

mount benacantil. so gorgeous
DSCN2143DSCN2143
DSCN2143

Alicante


6th June 2010

Did I read..."the smoothest ice cream?"
Wait til I share this with Mr. Handsome!!!!! I think I would really like Santa Cruz, Sam---so colorful and charming from the pictures!

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb