Climb every mountain Search high and low Follow every highway Every path you know


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia
June 28th 2014
Published: June 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

June 28 - Triacastela to Sarria



I have another lousy sleep last night. There is an industrial sized scent dispenser in the washroom and every 30 minutes it sprays. A loud swishing sound is emitted every time it goes off - between the scent emitted and the noise I am awake most of the night. I go in to the washroom and try to pull it off the wall - it does not budge - the bidet starts making threatening noises too so I give up.



I give up trying to sleep and am out of bed at 7 - by eight I am out and ready to go. As I get to the path a young woman approaches and asks if I am taking the mountain route today - I always take the mountain routes - I didn't know there were options - I have to start reading my guide book more thoroughly.



I say yes - she asks me if she could join me. I say yes.



Monica is from Florida - started the walk in Leon with her friend Brett. Brett is ill and will taxi forward to the next stop. Monica is very religious and is carrying a 5 lb bible in her backpack. This is very much a pilgrimage for her in the true sense of the word. She tells me about her mission work in Jamaica with disabled children - a truly nice person.



As we reach the summit of the mountain a storm blows in. It is cold and the rain is coming in sideways. I am a little worried - my glasses are fogged up and useless. There is nobody up here except Monica and I. I say to Monica where did this come from - she indicates she knew the storm was coming and that they were even forecasting some thunder and lightning.



I am freezing and soaked through - Monica is kitted out and even has a ball cap under her rain hat to keep the rain off her glasses - she is happy as a clam and is smiling and says she is loving this. I am worried for our safety but very comforted by her faith. - I am counting on it to get us through this.



We do make it over the top and then start on a magical walk through tree and vine covered misted pathways - on cue it stops raining and the sun starts bleeding through - I have my eyes peeled for magical creatures.



We come across a beautiful stone home on the pathway right in the middle of nowhere. It is an artist's study / art gallery. The artist is a British expat - the home / studio is decorated with British memorabilia including a Beatles poster and surfboard - he kindly invites Pilgrims in to look at his art, enjoy the hospitality of his home and buy some of his postcards if wanted - I buy one - he kindly signs mine - " may you find Jesus on your Camino " - how does he know?



Monica and I carry on and finish the whole stage - I enjoyed the company very much and am very happy to survive another stage.



I find a very quiet Albergue - very stark room - the family running the Albergue live there as well. I work on my blog in their living room / reception area. Grandpa and the mom do the cooking - the dad the front desk work and the two older daughters are doing homework and texting friends. A small dog keeps us all in line. Laughter and talking fill the home.



As I pay for the room the Dad stamps my Pilgrim's passport and offers me a breath mint - I must floss more. As I go to my room to unload my gear the mom gives me a beer - It feels good to be in a loving, caring family environment that practice good oral hygiene..



I catch up on my blogs and have a quick siesta ( I think my bed is hospital bed - I really must have looked bad coming in ). I opt for the pilgrim's supper - I saw the loving care put into the preparation - the family ate the same meal we eat. I order the vegetable soup appetizer - it is served in a huge tureen all for me - steaming hot - vegetables are local and fresh - I can only eat half. I then have the Galician beef stew in rich gravy with fries - eat it all. For dessert a lemon custard with cinnamon and chocolate drizzle. Red wine is good as usual.



I watch Brazil win their game with the family in their living room, say goodnight and head back to my hospital room - at least I won't fall out of bed tonight.



Until tomorrow kind reader...



Piss off of the day - soaked clothing and it's too damp to do a wash and expect them to dry.



Tip of the day - practice walking in torrential rains whilst close to home - the time to find out what you are missing is not on top of a mountain in a torrential storm 50 km from the nearest sail or MEC.



Blessing of the day - a good walking companion, a caring Albergue and a warm hospital bed



Funny events of the day - a breath mint - I made sure I brushed and flossed after dinner before I joined them for the soccer game - also Monica's friend asks and takes a picture of Monica and I before we start our walk - I find this odd but then realize probably wants picture proof of the potential serial killer her friend is hiking off with - maybe it is time to shave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



1st July 2014

You are becoming very good with the selfies:) food looks great !

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb