Taking a break


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » La Coruña » La Coruña
June 27th 2011
Published: June 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

From Palas del Rei to Arzúa


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Pumping the tube after a puncture 7 secs
UphillUphillUphill

Even though it looks downhill. Just a few kilometers before the O Cebreiro peak at almost 1500m.
I haven't done any updates for a while now, so there is quite a lot to say. I've conquered O Cebreiro, the last big mountain on the route, and by accident (sort of), I overtook another mountain when there was a pass-by route. It was nice too though. I had plans of going on a nightly tour just the other day, but the tube got punctured once again, so I thought it was a good idea to stay the night at an albergue as usual. I haven't had to step off many times, only during the toughest ascents, which get fewer and fewer for every 10km by now.

In total, there are not very many kilometers left. Less than 40, which I will probably split in two days. Today, until now, I've done maybe 30 kilometers, and it is not even 10:30. I had a nice breakfast at a small restaurant with more pilgrims than ever. This is because one only has to walk the last 100km to get the Santiago diploma. Many more pilgrims from here on are also Spanish for the same reason. Why go to France to go to Santiago?

I went to Palas del Rei
Morning viewMorning viewMorning view

Of a classic Spanish cityscape.
yesterday, which I though should be very fancy, but the albergue where I stayed was rather Spartan. But I anyhow met lots of nice people yesterday. One was a German actor, who was very interesting and open-minded. He had a good vocation to do the camino compared to many others who often only get a few weeks off during the summer. Very funny guy. He did a theather- "Auf wiedersehen" when we said goodbye. Another was a mining engineer from Texas. He was also very sympathetic and easy to talk to.

The plan for tomorrow is to go as far as possible without reaching Santiago. The day after, I'll stay for a whole day in that village just looking at all pilgrims passing by. It's really nice to not be in a hurry!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The wheelThe wheel
The wheel

From the Cebreiro-hill.
100km100km
100km

Only 100km left from here. This was yesterday.
RestingResting
Resting

In Portomarin, also yesterday.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb