Day of Travel, travel & more travel!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 19th 2014
Published: June 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Chicago to LondonChicago to LondonChicago to London

See Mom, they're roomy!
I have to try hard to remember where I left off. Jet-lag overdrive. We sat on the Tarmac to leave for London for ~2.5 hrs. Picked up Red Velvet Cupcake Murder in Buffalo and I've been blowing thru it w/all the time on the planes. Tried to watch the Lego movie. I'm sorry but the funny just wasn't funny enough for me. I think I was done by Tacko Tues. Or h/e they spelled it. Have to sleep cause that time goes by in a flash. Food wasn't so bad. I think I inhaled dinner by the time we finally got going. Landed in London a couple hours late & we still had to get from Heathrow to Stansted. Took the Underground & took an above ground detour to Nottingham Palace, which I had not seen before. It was pretty fancy today. Processions and music (marching band even played Beatles!). So many people plus the processions held us up a bit so that's all we were able to see. Managed to get to the right metro stop & hop on the Stansted Express w/ enough time to get to our gate. Everyone was already lined up so I just parked it
Airplane GourmetAirplane GourmetAirplane Gourmet

The roll was gross
by an outlet. The first flight w/o delays! Reached Madrid then had to take a few metro lines into the city. We checked in & went to find Tapas & Tinto de Verano! We shared a couple montaditos (small sandwiches), then had a brownie w/cream & helado (gelato/ice cream) & a Swiss hot chocolate. Imagine 3 packets of Swiss miss-maybe half the sugar & double the cocoa! Tstorms rolled thru while we wined & dined.
Going to try to add photos. I still don't know if they worked yesterday. Limitations on my phone. Being that it's almost 1am here, I have not the desire to pull out my tablet. I also can see your replies but can't respond on my phone!
I have more photos off my camera as well. Not posting now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SunsetSunset
Sunset

I was too tired to take one of sunrise but it was at least as pretty!
Mini MadridMini Madrid
Mini Madrid

At the airport there's a mini model of Madrid Airport & surrounding area.
ShoppingShopping
Shopping

Trying on hats
Upside Down BrownieUpside Down Brownie
Upside Down Brownie

Sorry, can't rotate right now. It was delicioso!
Tinto de VeranoTinto de Verano
Tinto de Verano

Well, there WAS Tinto de Verano...@'
mr. Sweepermr. Sweeper
mr. Sweeper

We both helped but I have to try to upload the photo again
Sweeping DuetSweeping Duet
Sweeping Duet

Sorry about the sideways


20th June 2014

Nottingham Palace?
Wow you must have been jetlagged - Nottingham Palace? That's a new place on me :-)

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb