Finally Madrid!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

When a Shower is more than a showerWhen a Shower is more than a showerWhen a Shower is more than a shower

This hotel is part of the "High Tech Hoteles" chain which explains the shower!
It was with a great sense of relief to make it to Madrid after the minor annoyance of not having accommodation secured until Saturday night. Much to my satisfaction everything has gone well since arriving. My flight was 90 minutes late however the airport transfer that I had arranged from Madrid Barajas airport was sitting patiently waiting for me when I arrived. The trip from the airport to the city is about 20 mins or so.

The Hotel (Petit Palace Italia) is very pleasant, very secure and in an excellent location next to the main drag in Madrid, the Gran Via. The room is surprisingly big, with free wireless broadband and a bathroom that couldnt be any nicer.

The only challenge is the shower - a little too high-tech for my liking. Who needs six shower heads? After my experience at Hotel de Nesle in Paris, I would have been happy with a bucket and hose!

Its cold outside at the moment (6c) but sunny - very similar weather to what I experienced in London. This morning I'll head off an grab a coffee and chorros on the way the Plaza Mayor to buy my Madrid visitor card
Hotel RoomHotel RoomHotel Room

A great size room with free wireless access thought the TV doesnt quite match the one in Empire Square
and after that its to the Museo Reina Sofia one of the greatest and most modern art galleries in the world and home to arguably Pablo Picasso's most famous artwork - Guernica.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb