Monestaries...and closed palaces...yay


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
October 10th 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Monestario de las DescalzasMonestario de las DescalzasMonestario de las Descalzas

This is the barefeet monestary
So, I had the day off of work because there were too many Practicas workers...so I planned on going to Sol and checking out these monestaries with Virginia...but she didn't show...oh well. So first I headed to this Pasteleria that Bienvenidos told us about...he said to try a napolitiano...so I did, but I had the cream one because I'm not a huge fan of chocolate...and I'm so glad I did!!!! It was AMAZING...it almost reminded me of my kolachi days in College Station with my working buddies on Saturday mornings...good times...and good food!
After I left there, I went looking for the Monesterio de las Descalzas...which was actually easy to find when you get the right directions. I decided to go with the English tour at noon, so I had an hour to kill, so I just went into a few shops....found some shoes I might buy. Then I went on the tour. It was pretty cool...there are still 19 nuns living there now, but they hide while people are touring...apparently we're never supposed to see them. (oh, and descalzas literally means "barefeet", but the lady assured me they do wear shoes😉

I bought a joint admission ticket to another
different angle...different angle...different angle...

...same monestary
monestary, so I went looking for that one...and of course...it was closed, so I'll have to come back some other time, but I don't know when I'll be able to because I only have a week to use this pass...oh well.

Palacio Real is right next to the monestary so I went over there because I still haven't checked it out...and of course, that was closed too...UGH...apparently for the festivities of Doce de Octubre (a holiday in Spain). So, now I don't know what to do before my train leaves tonight.

I ate lunch at Micky D's...had my first ever Big Mac...it was pretty good.

Then I headed home to double check and make sure I packed everything I needed. ate some dinner, then headed to the train station.

I got there WAY too early! I sat there forever. Finally, we were ready to board. That was the most uncomfortable train I've ever been in! I mean, you'd think they'd make an overnight train more comfortable...hmm...It was all night...and I just sat there...didn't really sleep...sight-seeing is going to be fun when I can barely keep my eyes open...ugh.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Palacio RealPalacio Real
Palacio Real

at least I can see the outside (notice sarcasm in my words...)
Why am I so American?Why am I so American?
Why am I so American?

well...beside that America is def. the best country...and McDonald's is oh so good...no matter where you are...but I miss my dollar menu!


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb