First day in a new country...


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
October 11th 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tram 28Tram 28Tram 28

This was the old fashion Trollie
I'M IN PORTUGAL! Yeah, so I arrived here (in the captial, Lisbon...or as it's known here...Lisboa) this morning at 8am. I wanted to purchase my ticket to Salamanca but apparently I can't at this station...it took me an hour to figure that out...so after some café con lech I took the Metro to my hostel. It was really easy to find...and so nice! I was very impressed. It was only 18€/night but there was free breakfast, internet (wifi and computers), very clean, bedding included...but I couldn't check in yet, so I just locked up my luggage there and set out to find out what all I should do. I first got on the old fashion trollie there have there...it reminded me of that trollie in that kids show that I used to love (um...something about neighborhood?) anyway, it's supposed to be a good tour of the old part of the city. It was cute, but apparently I got on at the wrong time because they made me get off at one point, and I didn't want to use another 1.10€, so I decided to walk back. On the way, I found the market...and I love markets! So I strolled around there
The MarketThe MarketThe Market

all so pretty!
a bit, and bought myself a new mug! (Oh yeah, and it was raining this whole time). Also on my way back, I found some picturesque places and the famous cathedral (nothing compared to the others I've seen). I finally found my way back to the central area, where I bought a 24hour ticket that lets me get on all the buses and trams and metros that I want. Then I headed to "Oriente" where there's supposed to be one of the best aquariums. I got there, and some how ended up in the middle of a mall...but I finally found my way out and then I saw where they had the world expo thing there. Apparently it was the Expo (in 1999) that made Lisbon popular...the oceanaio was a bit expensive, so I decided to pass on that, I just walked around and looked at the different scenes in that area. I took the tram back and then rushed to this one area to try to ride these horse-drawn carriages (I had picked up the brochure in the tourism office), but I was running out of time. I finally found the place, and luckily he was still there. The
CathedralCathedralCathedral

or "Sé" in Portugese
guy gave me a tour of that area and told me of the highlights, and where I should go...there's a huge monestary and I saw the place where the president of Portugal lives...I love those guards, but I couldn't get a good pic of them. oh and the horse was so pretty...oh and since I was alone (which the guy couldn't believe) he let me sit up front with him...better view. After that, I headed back to the central area and found a little place to eat dinner. I had a salad with spinach quise and the wine typical of Portugal, GREEN WINE. It was OK, but definitely different. I went back to the hostel and settled into my bed...and you remember how I didn't sleep at all last night, so I got online for a little bit and actually got to have a long conversation with Ray! So that was nice. Then I watched a few episodes on ANTM (if you don't know what that is, good, because I'm embarrassed that I love that show so much!).




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

This was the "puerta" that led to the sea...This was the "puerta" that led to the sea...
This was the "puerta" that led to the sea...

...on the main street in downtown.
World ExpoWorld Expo
World Expo

I think this was part of that...but it was kinda hard to tell
In a medianIn a median
In a median

I was walking down the middle of this street...and this thing looks so pretty in life...when you can see the water moving...not so impressive in the pic.
Native AmericansNative Americans
Native Americans

I don't really understand why they were here, but they were in the main street everyday...same spot...and the music and dancing made me miss Red River so much! I hope I can go there soon...maybe this summer...
Me and FinnyMe and Finny
Me and Finny

Here's me on the cute little carriage with the pretty horse, Finny
Me and the driver (are they called drivers?)Me and the driver (are they called drivers?)
Me and the driver (are they called drivers?)

Luckily he spoke English so he could tell me about all the things we passed...he really liked that I was from Texas because he knew there are a lot of horses in Texas...he loves horses.
Me and my green wineMe and my green wine
Me and my green wine

please ignore whatever that black stuff is in my teeth!


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0152s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb