Flamenco


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
October 7th 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

BassariBassariBassari

Me with my Iberian meats!
OK, I don't feel like writing a lot, so I'll make this short...the pics are better anyway...

...At work today I did a few new things, I had to "sifonar" this cube tank, where I made a huge mess...water everywhere...
Then I helped teach a new Practicas worker some things...good practice for my Spanish...poor guy.
Then I watched them feed the sharks in the big tank, but my favorite was the turtle we have, he's so cute. The sharks are such bullies...here he is, just trying to survive...eatting a little fish, and the sharks keep taking it away from him, so he goes and tries to hide in the corner, and he uses his little flippers to help hold the food while he bites it...too cute.
Then I thought I ruined an entire tank because I accidentally forgot to turn back on this pump after I was finished, so it was off for quite a while...through lunch, and when I did turn it on, the water got really cloudy...but it turned out to be OK.
After work, I met Jasmine in Sol to get some dinner, but we couldn't decide what to eat, so we just walked around for awhile...in
Flamenco dancersFlamenco dancersFlamenco dancers

This was the end of the show...no photos allowed during.
the rain. We really wanted the "menu del dia" but all the restaurants stop offering that around 4, so we finally decided to head to Plaza Mayor, because we remembered that restaurant we ate at a long time ago. We found it. It was called Bissari, and it was really cute...and not crowded, plus, very reasonablly priced. I decided to order Iberian meats with cheese as my appetizer (a lot like summer sausage), I had lamb with green beans and fries as my main course, and ice cream and coffee for dessert.
After we ate, we headed to Teatro Arenal for a Flamenco show. IT WAS AMAZING. I loved it! It made me want to get up there and dance with them. It reminded me of a mix between clogging, ballet, and Irish dancing...all things I used to do!
So the show was about an hour and a half so Jas and I went to Cafe y Te for some coffee before heading home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Me being JasmineMe being Jasmine
Me being Jasmine

Not really...just tried on her glasses and couldn't see a thing.
Teatro ArenalTeatro Arenal
Teatro Arenal

This is the outside of the theater where we saw the Flamenco show
FlamencoFlamenco
Flamenco

So yeah, I stole this pic...this is what was on the brochure
The bandThe band
The band

Yeah, I forgot to mention that I loved the music too! Makes me want to practice my classical guitar more!
Inside Teatro ArenalInside Teatro Arenal
Inside Teatro Arenal

Another stolen pic...please don't report me.


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb