Templo de Debod


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 17th 2008
Published: September 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the tourOn the tourOn the tour

That is Angel, telling us about Madrid as we walked to Templo de Debod
Today I went to work again. I was running a little late, but no one noticed. I got to help prepare the food today. That was pretty cool, but I was really slow. I bet Molly would be good at it, because it involved a lot of chopping up fish, squid, and mussels. After work, I went to school to work on my application, and I made progress, but I still have a lot to do. At 4:30, I went with Angel (at Eureka) on a little “field trip” to El Templo de Debod. We walked from our school over to Palacio Real. Angel explained a little of the history of the palace and that area in Madrid. It was interesting. The palace has over 2200 rooms, but no one has ever lived there, it was only for visiting important people - like other kings. Then we walked further, toward Casa de Campo - which was originally royal hunting grounds! When we arrived at Templo de Debod, it was much smaller than I had thought. He explained how Spain attained it (it’s Egyptian!). Apparently, there was a flood, and a few Spaniards saved the temple, so as a ‘thank you’, Egypt
Templo de DebodTemplo de DebodTemplo de Debod

This is the outside of the temple
gave it to Spain. It’s over 2000 years old, so they reconstructed most of it, but there were a few of the original stones left. Inside, we saw some hieroglyphics - clearly from Egypt. The temple was constructed so that it was directly in line with the path of the sun in the sky. So when the sun was rising, it shined in through the entrance and lit the most important part of the temple. I tried taking a picture of that, but I wasn’t successful. After the tour, we walked back to school and I went home. I didn’t really do anything tonight…just relaxed. Well, ¡Buenos noches!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

hieroglyphicshieroglyphics
hieroglyphics

Here's some of the original blocks


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb