Ayuntamiento de Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 8th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ayunamiento de MadridAyunamiento de MadridAyunamiento de Madrid

The outside view
Today, I wasn’t sure if I had an interview or not, so I just dressed for success anyway 😉 Turns out…I didn’t, but that’s OK. So I went to school. Classes were boring today. I feel like they put me in the wrong class because we’re going over stuff that’s REALLY easy! Anyway, after class, I decided today would be a good day to go get my train ticket for Barcelona this weekend. But I have NO money! - but at least I’m supposed to get my debit card in the mail today. So yeah, I had to walk to the train station, which is actually really far from my school. Luckily, the area that it’s in, is gorgeous! I didn’t realize it last time I was there, but I’ll definitely have to go back when I have more time so I can take pictures. There’s a university there - the architecture is incredible! So when I got to the train station, I didn’t know how buying tickets worked…I was not anticipating waiting so long. I found the booth for people buying ticket that for a later date and I got a piece of paper, but I guess I didn’t understand
Ayunamiento de MadridAyunamiento de MadridAyunamiento de Madrid

The other side of the Plaza de la Villa
the rules, because I stood in a line…for like half an hour! But when I finally got to the window, the guy told me that it was only for people who were buying tickets for that day. So I went back to the booth and found out that it has a number on the paper, and we have to wait until our number is called. Well, I was still about 40 numbers away from the current number, and each new number would come on after like 3 min. so this was going to take forever!!! So I just left. I walked all the way back to school because there’s a free tour today of some building - I don’t know what, but it’s free! I tried stopping in all the banks I saw, but they were all closed for siesta!!! So I have no way of getting any money!
I got to school right before the tour left. Luckily the building wasn’t too far from our school because my feet were hurting by this point! The building is called, Ayuntamiento de Madrid - I think it’s the capital of Madrid…and it’s where people like the Mayor go to resolve
Still...A.de MadridStill...A.de MadridStill...A.de Madrid

The entry door...the picture with me in it is actually this door, but we couldn´t fit the whole thing in...the actual part of it that was pretty...o well
city problems/laws…just a guess because the tour we had was in Spanish, and I didn’t understand a word!! But the building was gorgeous! Stained glass ceiling, detailed sculptured walls and doors, painted ceilings, huge chandeliers, etc.etc.
By the time the tour was over, I was ready to just go home. So I went to the school to pick up my backpack, got online for a little bit to talk to Ray and find out if my card had been delivered or not…it had, but it needs a signature and I wasn’t home…so now I don’t know if they’ll try to deliver again or I have to figure out where to pick it up…UGH…I just want my money!! I found a money-changing little place…and they actually took $20 (the other place I tried had a minimum of $30). So now at least I can get home!
When I got home, I ate a little cereal and toast…Jasmine asked if I wanted to go out…I said NO, I’m done, I’m going to bed. And I did.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Inside...finallyInside...finally
Inside...finally

So, I think this is where they meet to discuss laws and stuff...but who knows...I couldn´t understand a word this lady was saying!
Painted CeilingPainted Ceiling
Painted Ceiling

Here´s the ceiling of that room
Stained Glass RoofStained Glass Roof
Stained Glass Roof

Just another room in the building...beautiful!
Another pic of me!Another pic of me!
Another pic of me!

This is in front of that entry door that was pretty...you just can´t tell in this pic


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb