Museo del Prado...again


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 5th 2008
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me and GoyaMe and GoyaMe and Goya

so here's my with the statue of old man Goya
Well, today marks one week since I’ve been in Madrid. It feels like I’ve been here a lot longer! I really miss Ray and my family, but I do feel more comfortable here than earlier this week. I’m still coughing a lot, but that’s really it, oh and I have no voice. School has been really boring lately because I think I’m in the wrong class. We’re going over articles of words (el, la, los, and las). This is very elementary, and I already know most of it. I really want to be going over more complicated things. Maybe next week will be better. I got online today to find some tickets for Toros shows (I don’t know if their considered shows or fights, whatever they’re called, I definitely want to see one before I leave) and tickets for futbol games, but those are really expensive!, so I probably won’t be able to go to one of those games. Today, Eureka had a tour at Museo del Prado. Even though I already went on Sunday, this was free - well, in my program, I already paid for it - and this time we’d have a guide, so maybe I would enjoy it more. So we walked from our school to the museum. We only had a few hours, so we only had time to look at one artist, the most famous in Spain, Goya. It was really interesting. The paintings are much easier to look at when you know the story behind them, and some of the history. The whole tour was in Spanish, but the guide, Angel, is really easy to understand because he talks really slow (because all of us in Eureka are still learning Spanish, and some just started). There’s this one painting where there’s this horse, and if you look at if from one side of the room it looks like it’s facing one way, but if you walk across the room it changes direction! It was really cool. My feet and my back hurt through the whole tour, but at least I liked it, I was afraid I’d be too bored because art isn’t really my favorite subject…it’s hard for me to be interested in that. So after that, we walked back to school and I tried calling Mom with Skype, but I guess I had a bad connection, so she couldn’t here me, she kept thinking I was saying the opposite of what I really was saying. Anyway, after that I was ready to just go home and relax. I made zucchini with cheese and an egg and ham sandwich. It’s really dumb - here, we don’t have an oven! Charo keeps paint and wood and stuff in the oven! So we’re pretty limited with what we can cook. Luckily she at least has a toaster oven. Then I watched Shrek, in Spanish! I’m really trying to use and hear it as much as possible. So tomorrow, the plan was to go to El Parque de Retiro and see El Palacio Crital, but it’s supposed to rain all weekend, so I don’t know if we’ll go or not. Maybe tomorrow will be a good day to work on my Vet school application…I really need to get that done! Well, I can put a check for one week over with….is it 9 more to go?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb