Estoy enfermada.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning and my throat hurt so bad! Everytime I breathe in, I can feel my throat aching. The weather here is so dry. NO humidity...I know some of you (like the ones in Houston or College Station) are thinking that´s a good thing, but trust me, my throat disagrees! I knew right away...it would be a Starbucks morning - if only that dumb ól Spaniard hadn´t stolen my wallet, I had a Starbucks gift certificate in there!!
Anyway, so I went to school. I had another meeting with Antonio about my internship. He moved my interview from next Tuesday to next Wed. because Tuesday is a holiday here!! WooHoo...no school! But I wish I could understand Antonio better, because he´s SOOOOO nice, but he´s really hard to understand - but he says he will treat us like his own children, and so far, he has. ¡Papa Antonio!
After classes, Prathiba and I had a meeting with Angel (the guy that was really rude to me my first day - the one that was supposed to pick me up from the airport, but instead yelled at me for not calling...when I did, and then I was forced to ride the Metro and then have my wallet stolen...yeah, that guy, except yesterday and today he´s been really nice, so maybe I´ll give him a second chance). Anyway, the meeting was just about how in Madrid tourists have to be REALLY careful because it´s very COMMON for pick-pocketers to steal wallets, money, purses, etc. ...yeah Angel, I think this lecture is a couple days too late for me. Anyway, he did answer some of my questions about other stuff that I want to do while I´m here, like go to a soccer game and a toro show.
Since I didn´t feel very good, instead of exploring, I just wanted to take a nap. So I went back home. Charro was there. She told me that after lunch and a nap, she would take me to get my new bus/metro pass which is good for an entire month.
I took my nap and Charro woke me up and we walked to the Tobacco store where they sell the tickets. So, if you´re under 21 you can get a "joven" ticket, which is like half the price! So that´s what I thought I would get, but no, if you´re birthday is before June 30 OF NEXT YEAR, you have to get a normal pass! ugh. I wasn´t sure if it was really worth it anymore, so I just decided to wait.
We headed back to the apartment, and I decided I was just going to stay in tonight and get some rest. Jasmine called me from Sol, but I was too tired to go there. She got to the apartment about an hour later. One of her friends called and wanted to go somewhere where there was internet, so I decided to go because I really miss Ray.
We took the Metro to a stop I had never been to before. We found this place called J&Js, which is more or less an American bar. We found out that there was free internet there, so we huddled in the basement, mooching off their internet. I got to talk to Ray, so that was really good - he was busy at work, but it was better than nothing. We were there for about 2 hours and then we left.
The Metro station we had come from was closed, so we just had to walk to find a new one. We walked to Gran Via which is a popular road for tourists here in Madrid. Kind of like a mini Time Square. It was neat, but I was tired and ready to go to bed. We finally found the Metro that eventually would take us home.
I got home around 11:30 - really early here - and made some dinner ( eggs on toast w/ cheese and ham) and Jasmine let me have one of her tea packets. I still had homework to do so I did that and when I looked at the clock, it was almost 1 - which meant Ray probably just got off of work. So I called him. He missed it, but called me back. We talked for a very short time, then I took a nyquil and went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb