Museo del Prado


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
August 31st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Museo del PradaMuseo del PradaMuseo del Prada

this is the entry into the museum
To know the facts about this museum go to: www.museodelprado.es/bienvenido/
it´s very famous...and HUGE!

So, Jasmine and I got up early this morning so that we could get to the museum when it opens (9am), before there are a lot of crowds. Charro told us to take bus 45, but didn´t tell us where to get off. Luckily there was a really nice woman waiting for the bus too, and she really helped us. We got to museum right as it was opening and there was just a short line. I didn´t have my school idea with me (because it was stolen along with my wallet) but the lady let me have the student discount anyway.

We started looking around and were immedietely lost. We got in trouble for using our cameras in the gallery...whoops. It was cool at first, but after like 30 mins it lost its novelty and everything started to look the same...guess I´m not much of an art aficionado. Anyway, we did get to see some of the most famous works by the most famous artists in the world, so "check off that on the list". We saw works by Goya and Velasquez. But after
Ticket officeTicket officeTicket office

This is where we stood in line to buy tickets.
2 hours, both of us had had enough, plus, Jasmine wasn´t feeling well, so we left in search for a cafe so she could have some tea. We found a few, but we just didn´t feel like paying for anything right then. We walked down the street quite a ways and then realized we didn´t know how to catch the bus to go back home, so we just kept walking - we knew we´d run into a metro station somewhere. Sure enough we did, in fact we passed right by the area that we had stopped at the first night! --did I tell you we walked REALLY far! ha. Anyway, we caught the metro back home.

When we got there, I was SOOOO tired, so I took a nap, and she got her cup of tea. When I woke up, Charro´s son and his wife were here to have lunch (it was 3pm). So I met them and talked to them. It was really nice! I finally feel like my Spanish is useful. I was able to carry on a conversation with them, so that made me feel a lot better about being here in Spain!

They were
Artisto GoyoArtisto GoyoArtisto Goyo

This is the famous..GOYO.
really nice and gave me some great tips on where to go to get the best. We talked about food, travelling - places in Madrid and all over Spain...and Portugual.

Charro made us lunch. It was this COLD soup made from cucumbers, onion, apple, green pepper, and tomato...i think... it wasn´t bad, but it was something I´ll never crave. Then she brought out a salad with a dressing commonly used in Spain and these chicken meat ball. Those were pretty good. Last came coffee and fruit for dessert. Some kind of melon that reminded me of cantelope and raspberries with cinnamon sprinkled on top.

We sat and talked for another 2 hours or so, and then they left. The rest of the day was pretty lazy. I didn´t do much more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Some buildingSome building
Some building

This was next to museo del prada.
another buildinganother building
another building

it´s crazy... ALL the buildings are so beautiful!!!!


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb